Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
These were good, and most impotantly, fun to make! We followed one reviewer's suggestion and added a little melted butter to the batter. It still needed to be thinned down with a little water. We ended up using non-stick spray on the cookie sheet for easier removal. This lessened the baking time by about a minute. My daughter had fun coming up with "fortunes". Her little sister got one that said "Always wear clean underwear". Good times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Loved it. My figers are a bit red (didn't use gloves) but they turned out way better than I expected. I followed the recipe to the t except for adding a tablespoon of water. They're nice and crispy all except for the very center (which might have been my fault). Should I have left them in a bit longer (I was leaving em in approx. 7 min)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
good recipe, but add a little water. a little more than a teaspoon of mixture is needed for a cookie. let cook longer than 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShrinkingViolette
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Although it's a bit tricky to get right at first, the cookies are delicious, and once you get the hang of it the effort is really pretty minimal. I found an added tablespoon of water was necessary to make thin enough cookies (otherwise, they wouldn't get crisp for me), and added a little more vanilla to suit our personal tastes. Now, whenever I make bread with an egg yolk wash, I use the remaining egg white to make fortune cookies, and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I'm pretty good at baking, but couldn't get this recipe to work. I tried. I really tried. I tried the recipe 2 separate times, as well as, doing things differently on each tray. I used butter on the sheet. I used cooking spray on the sheet. I baked them at the right temp. I tried to lower the heat. The outside rim would get over baked/burnt and the inside would stay undercooked. The flavor is good and the folding is super easy. Don't know why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Really fun to make. But it is tricky and be prepared to spend a lot of time making these. They worked well on one of my pans, but consistently forced me to chisel them off another. I'm planning on trying another batch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
For taste, this recipe deserves 5 stars. It was very simple, quick, and delicious. The only problem was that i couldn't get the cookie off the cookie sheet. First i used ungreased, then ungreased tin foil, and then greased tin foil. non of it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
does NOT work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I followed the directions and greased the pan. As soon as I took them out of the oven, they were very hardened. When I tried to bend them, the broke. They were only in for about 6 minutes, yet somehow they managed to get horribly burnt. My oven cooks evenly, but this recipe does not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenavieve

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I just added some almond extract, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States