Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Sorry-As submitted, this recipe is disappointing. It worked out only when I added 2T of butter and some water. And even then, I never got the pretty all over golden color featured in the picture. I kept trying and made it several times. This was to be a gift, but I'm a little too embarrassed to give it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Great fortune cookies! My 11 yr old daughter and I made these for her class Chinese New Year party at school. All of the kids loved them! Great flavor! It did take me a few tries to get the folding down, but they were a lot of fun...and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Murphree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Marshall, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tbmckay
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
These were yummy!! And defiantly easier than I thought they would be. I did add 2 Tbsp. melted butter, and I doubled the recipe and got exactly 2 dozen. The cookies that were not SUPER thin did end up being a bit chewy, so I recommend spreading super thin if you want a traditional crunchy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbmckay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by ZAKIAH
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I guess this recipe is pretty much covers the basics of a fortune cookie recipe. but what i did is i added 1/4 tsp almond extract, 1 1/2 tsp cornstarch and 1 1/2 tbsp veg oil (you can use melted butter here). The batter will turn out rather sticky and just slightly runny. I cut out a circle on a milk carton box and slather the batter on top of the circle ,scraping the remaining batter off the circle using an offset spatula to get even sized cookies. I also found out that to get the middle to puff nicely, you shouldn't pinch the circles together, instead just lightly hold both ends of the folded circle and place at the rim of a bowl or a spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
These were okay, not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
They turned out great! My only suggestion is based off another review - make sure the cookies are so thin that you can see the pan underneath. I also unfortunately had to use a new pan for each batch, otherwise I'd have to wash it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Good flavor. I had to add a little water to thin out the batter otherwise it would have made a very thin sugar cookie. Spreading on a heated cookie sheet made it much easier to spread. If you can get your hands on some Watkins Danish Pastry extract use it in place of the vanilla~ amazing! I will definitely use this recipe again. If you live in a high humidity area like Florida, serve the same day you make them or they get sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOUNDMYZEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by Angie C.
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I decided to try these ahead of time so we could perfect them before our Christmas Eve Chinese Feast! :) I haven't tried putting the paper in yet, but I'm confident after the test run that it'll be fine. So, here's what I did...following some tips already given by others. 1. Reduced sugar to 2 Tbsp....plenty sweet! 2. Added 1/2 Tbsp. of water to batter. 3. Baked at 375 for about 7 minutes...just until edge is starting to brown and center is set. 4. FOLD quickly!!! In half like a taco shell, then pinch the edges together...then over an edge of a bowl or pan or something to form the horse shoe bend. 5. Placed in muffin tin (see my picture) to keep them from unfolding. Now, at this point, even after cooling, they are still not crispy enough to "break open". So, once we were done, I turned the oven off...and about 10 minutes later stuck the muffin tin back in and just let it sit in there and dry out. They got a little more brown (like you are used to seeing at a restaurant)...and NICE and crispy! More tips...I got 4 out of this recipe, but they were kinda big...so I think the "6 servings" is correct. I made 2 at a time on a jelly roll pan sprayed with Pam...it worked perfectly. I just formed them in my hand...wasn't too hot. Next time I think I will double the recipe and do half vanilla and half orange extract. THANK YOU for this recipe!!! I'm not trying any others...this is the one, it just needed a little tinkering to make it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
easy to make and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These are really good. I have a few suggestions. If you want them crunchy, place them back in the oven for about 5 minutes once you have folded them. I made about a dozen (this was recipe x2) put them in the cup of a cup cake pan and put them all back in the oven together. It is not necessary to do this immediately. Also, use SUPERFINE sugar only. if you don't the texture is way off and it almost tares when you fold it. If you don't want to purchase superfine sugar then just put regular sugar in a coffee grinder for about 10 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States