Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
WAY to salty!!!! that is a consumer error though TIP: pour salt into your hand then pinch some into the dough.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
These were very simple to make (after practicing a bit). I made over 100 for my son's fourth grade international celebration recently. They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
So these were pretty tasty. I wound up putting my cookies back into the oven for a few minutes to get them to breaking consistency. They never browned, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
made as directed. very easy, very delicious! my first grade students filled them with love notes for mother's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Blessings
Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This recipe is one of the best I have found yet. For my first attempt I followed the recipe exactly, but in retrospect I wish I would have listened to some of the other reviewers about cutting down the amount of sugar. Here were some technique modifications I made that were extremely helpful: Use a silicon baking mat (Silpat, etc) on a baking sheet that has been flipped upside down. It will save you from the nightmare of having to grease your pans! I started out using a spatula to remove the cookies from the mat, but kept ruining the edges. After awhile I found that I could just peel them off using my hands without sustaining any burns (the cookies were actually really easy to handle). I just flipped the cookie upside down onto a thin tea towel in my hand, and continued with the folding. I only had one mat, so I would cool it off by shaking it in the air for a few seconds (after brushing off crumbs) and then placing onto a new pan (cool pans work best, or the cookies will start to cook as you spread the batter). Final note: add a little bit of orange food coloring to the batter. They add food coloring into the mass produced ones to give them that nice color, and I found that it gave me a more authentic look (just a little, don't over do it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Good recipe, but it was way too complicated for me to make! I had many failed batches. The dough was good to eat raw, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Wheeee!!! Such FUN! And they really taste authentic! No trouble. Tons of fun. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I used parchment paper instead of greasing the cookie sheet and I was able to spread the batter nice and thin and even and the cookies peeled right off when I took them out of the oven! I did add a little butter to the batter and I only worked with 2 at a time because the cookies cooled really quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I love this recipe! I added butter to the batter and generously greased up the pan before each batch. They were easy to shape and a lot of fun to make. Easier than I imagined. The hardest part was writing my own fortunes. They're not as smooth as a fortune cookie you'd buy but they look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Sorry-As submitted, this recipe is disappointing. It worked out only when I added 2T of butter and some water. And even then, I never got the pretty all over golden color featured in the picture. I kept trying and made it several times. This was to be a gift, but I'm a little too embarrassed to give it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States