Five Ingredient Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I was looking for a (super) simple recipe to make to satisfy a craving......... this will do well, and since I don't have an Ice cream maker, this is really the only recipe I can use. :) thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I made this with 4% fat soy milk instead of the 1/2 cup of milk and 1 pint of heavy cream. I only wisked all the ingredients together well, and didn't bother beating at all. After I put the mixture into my ice cream machine and turned it on, I then peeled 3 ripe bananas and mushed them up with the juice of 1/2 a lemon. When the ice cream began to harden, I added the banana mixture. Shortly before removing the ice cream from the machine, I added 1/2 cup toasted coconut. This is/was delicious. I will make this recipe often. It was sooooo creamy and tasty!!! I may never use cream or milk again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I like this recipe a lot. I always use this recipe as it does not go icy and it tastes just like it's from the supermarket. I have made Lavender (use less vanilla and add 1 drop of pure lavender oil), Raspberry, and Chocolate chip cookie dough (which you cannot get in my country) all with success. be sure to fold the whipped cream in very carefully as you do not want to crush all the air out of it. Some people have complained that you get a greasy film on the top of your mouth, this is because of the fat in the cream. It can be remedied by adding other ingredients such as berries which break up the cream. Make sure to use good quality vanilla or don't be surprised that it tastes like cream and condensed milk (duh.) This ice cream freezes rock hard so be sure to take it out a bit before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
I made this recipe while camping w/ one of those new camping roller ball ice cream makers. It worked great. I used half and half instead of the milk and heavy cream. Added some cookies that had been crushed on the way to the campsite. Turned out great and was a fun treat on a very hot day on the beach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Disappointing. I regularly make custard style, so maybe I'm used to that. The texture was good, but the flavor of condensed milk was overpowering. I'd suggest making this chocolate flavored instead of vanilla to cover the condensed milk flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Good flavor but I did not achive the right texture, maybe it was me though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
The BEST ice cream recipe!!! I have tried a lot of them, and this is the best. So easy, I loved not having to heat anything in a saucepan. Worked great in my ice cream maker. Most recipes I've tried turn icy after being in the freezer a while- this did not- stayed light and creamy. My husband couldn't believe it was home made! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Excellent recipe. Ice cream was very tasty. I used the recipe to make ice cream in coffee cans while camping. A great recipe for making ice cream while camping. Also great because the ingredients are so simple and it's so easy to throw together. Will definitely make again. I even had to pass the recipe along to family members!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Very good light and tasty. will make again. Thanks sooo much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
What an AWESOME recipe! Thank you for sharing this wonderfully easy recipe. I always wanted to make homemade ice cream, but never had an ice cream maker. My husband is an ice creamaholic, and he said "it's so creamy"! He wants me to make some with berries. I would like to try making chocolate, do you have any suggestions? I don't know if the chocolate syrup would make the consistency to soft. Thanks again! PS. I have since made another batch and split it up. One batch I used fresh blueberries (not good, they were like little pellets) it would probably be much better if they had been cooked. Good news though...I put some Chocolate flavored Ovaltine in the other batch and it turned out FANTASTIC! YUMMMMMMMMM! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States