Five Ingredient Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I can't believe how absolutely delicious this ice cream is!! I did substitute 1/2 and 1/2 for the heavy cream and the milk (I guess that makes it a 4 ingredient ice cream) like another reviewer suggested but it was still fabulous. I also used my small ice cream maker. I will make this again and again. I'm so happy to have this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Great recipe, really easy! This is one of the best vanilla recipes I've found and the easiest. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beulah, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I used evaporated milk instead of ordinary milk. Really rich and creamy. States better than some of the store bought stuff. Instant hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Taste was very good. My only recomendation to possibly make it better is to check it long before 2hrs. to see if the edges are hardening to stir. If I would have done that I believe the texture would have been better. Regardless though I will definatly be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I made ice-cream! It's real, creamy, tasty and doesn't need scary ice-cream makers (never seen one anyway) I devided the ice-cream into 3 parts, added a couple of tsps cocoa powder to the first, a couple of tsps coffee powder to the second, left the third one plain-enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Excellent recipe. I have been looking for an easy but delicious vanilla base ice cream, and couldn't be happier with the results. So simple to make, and the results were so creamy and not as sweet as custard based ones. I made the refridgeration version, and it seemed to be fool-proof. I will be trying this with strawberries and cookies next....try it for yourself. Makes the perfect amount to share and even my husband thought it was from the Supermarket! Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I was looking for a (super) simple recipe to make to satisfy a craving......... this will do well, and since I don't have an Ice cream maker, this is really the only recipe I can use. :) thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I made this with 4% fat soy milk instead of the 1/2 cup of milk and 1 pint of heavy cream. I only wisked all the ingredients together well, and didn't bother beating at all. After I put the mixture into my ice cream machine and turned it on, I then peeled 3 ripe bananas and mushed them up with the juice of 1/2 a lemon. When the ice cream began to harden, I added the banana mixture. Shortly before removing the ice cream from the machine, I added 1/2 cup toasted coconut. This is/was delicious. I will make this recipe often. It was sooooo creamy and tasty!!! I may never use cream or milk again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I like this recipe a lot. I always use this recipe as it does not go icy and it tastes just like it's from the supermarket. I have made Lavender (use less vanilla and add 1 drop of pure lavender oil), Raspberry, and Chocolate chip cookie dough (which you cannot get in my country) all with success. be sure to fold the whipped cream in very carefully as you do not want to crush all the air out of it. Some people have complained that you get a greasy film on the top of your mouth, this is because of the fat in the cream. It can be remedied by adding other ingredients such as berries which break up the cream. Make sure to use good quality vanilla or don't be surprised that it tastes like cream and condensed milk (duh.) This ice cream freezes rock hard so be sure to take it out a bit before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
I made this recipe while camping w/ one of those new camping roller ball ice cream makers. It worked great. I used half and half instead of the milk and heavy cream. Added some cookies that had been crushed on the way to the campsite. Turned out great and was a fun treat on a very hot day on the beach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States