Favorite Banana Blueberry Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Flavor is good. But the bread is too dry. Cannot eat without holding over a plate. Dried crumbs everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DinaLaChef
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
Excellent fruit bread, a nice departure from banana bread for a seasonal treat adding blueberries. I served it at a party and people ate seconds/thirds and took some home! The changes I made were subbing the shortening required with applesauce, then adding in one teaspoon of shortening; 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup white four, and equal parts white and brown sugar. I got one cup mashed bananas using one small and one medium sized banana. It baked for 55 minutes and was crunchy on the outside, moist on the inside. The oats contribute a hearty tasting crunch. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly as written. I baked the bread exactly as stated. The bread didn't rise causing the outside and ends to be done, but the inside remained doughy. I have never had this happen before in bread. The ends were baked so I tasted that part and it had great flavor. If all of the bread would have turned out that way, then it would definitely be a 5 star for me. I may try again with some personal adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Whenever I make banana bread, this is the recipe I use. One thing that I change is that I add blackberries (frozen) along with the blueberries. I have to make at least a double batch because this crunchy on the outside, soft and moist in the middle bread never lasts long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Very good!!!! Followed the recipe except i added a cup of blueberries ,only because i love blueberries! Will be making over and over again! Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this with half butter &half apple sauce in place of shortening..i also made this with 1.25c of gluten free flour blend the rest almond meal. This came out way better than i expected. Gf doesnt always work for all recipes. The consistency is perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle M Gierald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I made this as a spur of the moment breakfast for my grandson so I made some necessary substitutions. I used butter instead of shortening, I had overripe bananas in the freezer and used them with the separated liquid after defrosting and since they were so sweet I cut the sugar in half. I didn't have quick cooking oats so I used old fashioned oats and I used frozen, drained blueberries and doubled the amount. I did not add nuts. The end result was a slightly sweet quick bread, sweet enough to eat on it's own but really perfect toasted with butter. I think next time I would like to try the same recipe but with a moist sweetner like honey or agave as the bread was not dry but I would have preferred just a tad moister...may have had to do with the fact I used regular oats and btw, no one would ever know there were oats in this bread, great way to sneak a healthy grain in for the kids. The ease of this recipe makes it a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I normally do not care for banana bread but this is much lighter and the addition of blueberries (no need to thaw) is the icing on the cake. I do use half butter and half shortening (could not imagine subsituting all applesauce) and decreased sugar by 1/4 c. because it is plenty sweet enough for us. A nice change in a bread and the creaming method give it a much lighter texture. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugarplum
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Very good! I did make a couple small changes. I used applesauce in place of shortening. I also used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I am not sure why it is called "quick" bread. I had to cook mine for over an hour before it was cooked all the way thru. But it was worth the wait. Very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarplum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
My, what a fabulous recipe. I made it just as written. I had so many over-ripe bananas that I doubled it. I could only find one loaf pan, so I made one loaf and one tin of muffins. Both were out of this world with plenty of banana flavor and just the right amount of blueberry. The nuts gave it a nice little crunch. I'll say it again--these were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States