Fava Bean Breakfast Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This is the classic Middle Eastern way to enjoy fava beans. I wouldn't call it a "dip" per se by American standards. I always serve the beans in a bowl with pita bread or lavash (paper thin flat bread) on the side to dip in the liquid. If you don't find fava beans in the supermarket, try a Middle Eastern grocery store. They are also known as "foul mudammas" or "foul" (pronounced like 'fool'.) Yes, the smell during cooking may seem unusual to you at first, but the taste is all its own - and delicious. Thanks, Beverly, for sharing the recipe with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I had some fresh fava beans from the farmers market and didn't have a clue what to do with them as I've never tried them before. This was EXCELLENT! I omitted the parsley and added garlic as suggested. My husband said it smelled terrible (like poop actually) but he hates anything with cumin. That just meant that I got to eat the whole batch myself! :) Try it - it's great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This is an easy, tasty recipe. I used black beans instead of fava, which isn't at all the same but still tasted all right (fava beans are hard to find), and also omitted parsley and added garlic and tahini. And I blended it. Good meal and works for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I thought this was very good and really easy to make. My husband however ... took one bite and said "I don't like it." I will probably make it again but not for breakfast. It seems to be more of a dip (almost hummos like) that a breakfast meal for us. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I used 3 cloves garlic and halved the parsley. I used GOYA pigeon peas from the spanish food section, b/c I couldn't find FAVA at three stores. I used wraps rather than pita. It didn't make me think breakfast at all. I served it at a party and it didn't get touched. I think it was b/c of its less than ordinary appearance. So you probably shouldn't serve it at a party unless you have an adventurous crowd. I brought it home and my family & I loved it. I will definately make it again for my family but not for a big party with a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
A wonderful dip! Easy too! As suggested, I replaced the parsley with 3 cloves of minced garlic and pureed the mixture for a smoother dip. And in case the directions aren't clear, I used the liquid from the canned faba beans. I could've sworn faba and fava beans were the same thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This is fantastic! My husband is addicted. The only change I made was to leave out the parsley and puree. We ate it all in a couple of days, so I went right back out to the store today and no fava beans... So I got "faba" beans. Sounds similar, so I rationalized. It's still a lovely bean spread, but the favas really make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Delicious, Exotic, Nutrituious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I made this for my children and they all loved it. It was easy to make, and they are all requesting that I make it again! I often prepare black beans in much the same way, blending them to make "refried beans" for burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
East to prepare, v. healthy and v. tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States