Fava Bean Breakfast Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I made this just as is and I found it really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe, very tasty. I like to mash the beans a little and we eat it with pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I make a variation of these about once a week. I usually end up serving them for a supper or for brunch. I heat some olive oil on the stovetop and add some minced garlic which sautes for a few minutes. Then, add the fava beans with liquid from can, salt, pepper, cumin, lemon juice, and a tablespoon of tahini. Let this simmer for 5 to 10 minutes. Then, lightly mash some of the mixture to thicken it up -- fava beans mixture is not as thick or pastey as hummus. Add a tablespoon of freshly chopped parsley and mix in. Serve in a bowl with a drizzle of olive oil on the top and some diced tomato and diced sweet onion in the center for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
After reading thru some reviews I replaced the parsely with a couple cloves of pressed garlic. In the end it was quite tasty but still missing something. I spread a little tahini dressing over brown rice and topped with the fava mixture. YUM. (I'd advise trying to avoid the aroma of the freshly opened beans if you're unfamiliar like I was, whoa!! Luckily it goes away)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
My husband and I loved this. I found the bean water scarily slimy too, so I rinsed the beans. Think I added a little too much lemon juice, though, so I'll have to watch out for that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Wow. Good stuff. I'm glad I put just a bit in a ramekin and the rest in the fridge, or I would have certainly eaten it all by now. I used cannelini beans because that's what I had on hand, and added garlic. I rinsed the beans and used a little tomato juice instead of the slimy bean water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
very good recipe quite authentic, I make these myself and also buy the ready seasoned tins. If the smell bothers you then it might be best if you cook the beans yourself instead od using tinned, as its not so strong that way. My family love to have this for breakfast and it really sets you up for the day, but you forgot the traditional topping...chopped boiled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I didn't like this. I thought the beans smelled gross. I didn't use the liquid from the can b/c I was scared it would make it smell worse. I used water. I replaced the parsley with garlic as others suggested. I found a quarter cup lemon juice was too much. We mixed the cooked Fava Beans with yogurt and ate it so it got rid of that smell. I think it would have tasted better if we mixed it with hummus. I'm giving it 3 starts b/c for some reason my husband really liked it. I wouldn't want to eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I was in egypt recently. They did eat this almost every morning. They did not put lemon in it. Instead they put lemon wedges in a bowl for you to squeeze on yourself. Typically they would smash all the beans with their fork and then scoop onto the pita bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
wonderful! and even better with white canellini beans and a little bit of garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States