Fava Bean Breakfast Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I've been making this recipe for a few years now...it's definitely a tried and true favorite. lemony? check. garlicky? check. All around delicious. I make mine a little different than called for in the recipe directions - I saute the onions and tomatoes (and add a clove of minced garlic)until it's the consistency I'm looking for, then add the beans (mash) and rest of the ingredients (usually omit the parsley and red pepper). I've eaten this the traditional way with Pita, but I seriously prefer it with a toasted bagel with cream cheese and a runny yolk egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Great! I used fresh fava beans. I made the following modifications suggested by other reviewers: sauteed the onion with 3 cloves minced garlic in the oil first, added the tomatoes and let them soften, then the beans and other ingredients plus 2 tbsp of tahini sauce. I left out the red pepper. I plated it with a runny fried egg on top of each serving, which we mixed together with the beans, and stuffed it all into a warm pita. Wonderful! Very healthy. Very interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
i used this recipe as inspiration but didn't follow the recipe to a tee. i had fresh fava beans on hand so i shelled and parboiled them and shelled them again. i then boiled them for a few minutes with a reduced amount of water and then added in onion, garlic, fresh tomato (minus the skin), tahini, cumin, salt & pepper. after being boiled together i used a potato masher and mashed everything together (it still had a chunky look, it wasn't creamy). i then plated it and drizzled extra virgin olive oil over the top and paired it with toasted ciabatta sliceds et voilet! it was delicious! even my husband who isn't a big fava fan loved it. thank you for giving me a starting point with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Wonderful flavor - great way to start your morning with veggies! I used 2 kg of fresh fava beans that I boiled for about 3 minutes, and peeled 1/4 of. The unpeeled ones I pureed in a mini chopper. I followed the suggestion to saute the onions and tomatoes with 3 cloves of garlic first, and I omitted the parsley. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
It took me a while to find canned fava beans (I heard they smell when you cook them). I made this a little bit differently than the recipe. I sauteed the onion, tomato and cumin with a a couple of cloves of garlic, a 1/4 tsp of ground coriander and a sprinkle of paprika. After the veg were softened, I added in the lemon juice, allowed it to cook down a little then I added the beans, mashing them a little as they heated. I served the fava with warm rye pitas and chopped cucumbers. But I did a little research and often people eat this with a fried egg and harissa (hot pepper sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is a wonderfully simple recipe of the kind that sets off other ideas. The can of favas that I bought some time ago and never knew quite what to do with turned out to be a good purchase. I'll be stocking up on more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
My son is allergic to sesame (tahini) so I was looking for a substitute hummus recipe. This is it! He loved it (he's 2), I loved it, my husband loved it. A keeper. I didn't have fava beans, so I used butter beans. Hey, they're similar, right?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Loved it! Pita wedges and some plain greek syle yogurt turn it into an excellent afternoon snack also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I followed the "muslim mom" reviewers suggestions. Hot, with a poached egg on top for breakfast was good but later in the day, room temp with warm toasted pita wedges---yum! I thought it would be more filling..... Love the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States