Fava Bean Breakfast Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Really like this and it's a keeper! I have had some variation of this before at home when my sister would make it for my dad or dad would make it. We are not egyptian nor lebanese so the way they made it was just to their liking not necessarily following a passed down traditional recipe. At any rate, I followed the method described by the reviewer adrienn8243 and I was absolutely happy with the final product. I used almost 3 cloves of garlic added after the onions and tomatoes sauteed then dumped the beans with water they boiled in and the water reduced as I continued to cook the dish so it was not soupy at all plus I mashed all the beans in the pan. Added abt a couple tsp of tahini and some lemon juice. Delicious, quick, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I understand this is supposed to be for breakfast, but I made it for dinner. I liked it a lot and so did my dinner company. We stuffed it into pita. Next time I'll add a little more lemon juice. This might be good with some eggplant too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I really didn't like this. I was expecting more of a hummus consistency with fava beans and it ended up being more like a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My husband is Egyptian and we make this (ful) at least once per week. Usually, we sautee the onion and tomato in some olive oil first... then add the garlic... then add in the rinsed, canned beans. Mash them with a fork. And let cook. Add salt & pepper, cumin, and 1 T or so of tahini. A little lemon and parsley to finish. Divine. Really good served with eggs too... hard boiled are more traditional, but we also do sunny-side up and poached. The yolky-bean mixture is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somecookin'
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Wessam and Imanlady are right... This is the way I learned from my Lebanese mother in-law...Absolutely cook this with hummus beans- chickpeas- as well. Drain the beans, rinse, and boil for about 4 minutes. Meanwhile, crush+ grind garlic and 1/2 tsp. salt in a bowl with a "toom'/wooden crusher. Then, add lemon juice, and drain beans and stir into the mixture. You are going to add olive oil and more lemon juice when you start to eat it anyways- its part of the way ou eat it. Also, you can add the sauteed garlic/onions and tomatoes and spices- cooked alltogether, on top or mixed in, and we do sprinkle on the parsley. We eat it with pita, and also with cut radishes, hard boiled eggs, and fresh green onions, even garden greens. My oldest was eating green onions when she was 3 this way. My youngest finds the accessories too complicated- but asks for this at least 3x a week. Yes, you are going to have garlic breath from Hell UNLESS you chew on fresh parlsey sprigs after!! Its the only thing that works. And, if you ever wondered why cultural people kinda smell funny, its because of the amount of garlic they eat...but they are the healthiest because of it!! How many Egyptians or middle-Easterns come down with a cold when they are eating their traditional food? Barely any. The garlic gets into your blood and kills viruses and germs. Proven fact. When I was first married and eating alot of garlic, my mom told me I stunk- even though I am an obsessively clean person! - and she is Fren
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Incredible! Made as stated, with the exception of adding the fresh parsley at the very last minute. Very very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Wonderful recipe! Thank you! I found frozen fava beans at Whole Foods and didn't know what to do with them. This was great! I changed it just a bit based on the Egyptian reviewer. I sauteed onion and garlic in olive oil over medium heat. I added my thawed fava beans, cumin, salt, and pepper and cooked for about 5 minutes. I added chopped grape tomatoes (it was all I had) and cooked for another 3 minutes to soften. I added this to the blender with a little chopped parsley and the juice of 2 lemons. Delicious! The texture was velvetty smooth and the flavor was great. I plan to serve it warm with toasted pita triangles but it would probably be good cold also. It would also be a great soup thinned out with a little chicken or vegetable stock. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Pretty good..... My husband is from Egypt and when my inlaws are here we eat it almost every morning for breakfast (I hated it at first cause I hate beans but once i had it pureed I was hooked and now I love this for breakfast, pureed or not). A few notes: Fava beans are a little smelly straight out of the can, don't be scared, they will not taste this way. Definitely saute the onions in olive oil first, then when they are soft add the tomatoes until they are soft as well. Add this to the boiled fava beans. You can puree it (if you are really not a bean person) or mash it a little bit with a potato masher or fork. 1/4 cup of lemon juice is too much for 1 can of beans. i would start with 2-3 T and add if necessary. Cumin is necessary and I recommend 1/4 teaspoon of salt. I don't use red pepper. For a time, I was not putting it in (because i think canned beans have enough sodium already) but there is definitely a difference in taste. If you are concerned about sodium you can drain the fluid out of the can and replace it with an equal part of water. 1 1/2 T oil may not be enough depending on your tastes. Mix that amount into the dish, and they you will need more to garnish the top with (I have seen my Mother in law use up to a quarter cup of oil but that is A LOT and another reason i hated this dish at first, I kept asking my husband "Why is she drowing it in oil, how fattening!" however i have come to appreciate the taste and sometimes have to dip back into the serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Not bad but not great...something seems to be missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I am rating this five stars because this is a great dish, all the ingredients are correct, however the method is not. First, you saute the onion and tomatoes, until wilted. Then you add the canned fava beans and let it cook, while mushing with your fork. You add all the spices you wish to add (red pepper flakes is optional) and cumin is a MUST, however we dont add lemon, and parsley is only for garnish. I am arabic, this isnt just an Egyptian dish its a dish from the Arab cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States