Fava Bean Breakfast Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This had an interesting flavor ... we made it with fava beans from our garden which probably gave it a different tast (and was a lot of work).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This, my friends, is Egyptian comfort/soul food! Growing up, this was a breakfast, snack, lunch, dinner, fasting, whenever/whatever kind of food! Eating foul with pita bread is a MUST! Add the lemon to taste since it might be too strong for some. I also omit the red pepper and parsley as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari2mila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Fava beans are in season right now in southern California so I had to test this out with fresh favas! And fresh, rich and delicious it is! I also used canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh and cooked it a bit longer so the flavors could meld. The aroma is sure to peak the curiosity of your more "meat and potato" type of friends too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chai

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Great taste! Followed the suggestion to puree--fantastic love the lemon kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bearclaire
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I modified the ingredients to what I had on hand. I used black beans and salsa in lieu of fava beans and chopped tomatoes and onions. I think the fresh lemon is important, so I wouldn't leave it out (I'm lucky enough to have a lemon tree in my backyard). I ate it as a dip and a burrito filling. I think it would be really good with avocado too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bearclaire

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
My partner absolutely loves this! She's from Texas and I'm from Hawaii-- we have no familiarity with Egypt (yet), but this was just delicious. We leave out the ground red pepper and use black. We've used dried fava beans, but they are a lot of work. I'll try canned next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
very yummy- I had to make changes due to what ingredients I had on hand, I bought a can of fava beans to someday make this recipe but did not have everything else. I used garlic powder and Goya Sofrito in place of the tomato and blended cooked mixture in the food processor and served with freshly hard boiled eggs and warm naan, yummy and healthy! I have never eaten or seen a fava bean so blending it to look like refried beans was a little comforting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Delicious! I sauteed the onion and tomato in some olive oil first and then added the beans and the seasonings. This makes for a good, unique breakfast (at least in my house) and I think it would be just as tasty for lunch. Thanks for the recipe, Beverly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I didn't cook the tomato, instead I garnished with it and green pepper strips. I used dried parsley instead of fresh. This doesn't have to be limited to breakfast, my version made a great lunch on a rye tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I've been making this recipe for a few years now...it's definitely a tried and true favorite. lemony? check. garlicky? check. All around delicious. I make mine a little different than called for in the recipe directions - I saute the onions and tomatoes (and add a clove of minced garlic)until it's the consistency I'm looking for, then add the beans (mash) and rest of the ingredients (usually omit the parsley and red pepper). I've eaten this the traditional way with Pita, but I seriously prefer it with a toasted bagel with cream cheese and a runny yolk egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States