Fava Bean Breakfast Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very tasty - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Stumbled on this by accident, but am so glad I did. This is a quick and easy but very flavorful meal. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious! My boyfriend just recently converted to the vegetarian lifestyle, so I needed to find some recipes to help him stay on track. This is the first recipe I've tried and he loved it! He suggested to add corn next time. I changed some things a bit. Only used 1 large onion, minced garlic, 1 can of northern beans and crushed red peppers. Everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donsmom1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
We liked this a lot - good filling breakfast! For myself, I would add more red pepper to give it more of a kcik, but that's just a personal taste. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I've tried so many recipes for Ful, and this one is the only one that my Egyptian husband declares wonderful. He eats it with my home made pita, hot from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Awesome recipe! I ate this for lunch yesterday because I was starving and it sounded good and quick. The only thing I did a bit differently was that I added a bit of tahini. I also used the immersion blender right in the pot, so it was smooth and chunky. I had a ton of leftovers so this morning I heated a bowl up of the bean spread and topped it with a fried egg. This probably isn't authentic, but the beans taste amazing with the runny egg! As a breakfast its definitely very filling and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Fava beans are healthy and different, so I thought I 'd give it a try and this recipe is easy and great, I will use it often to get out of the bacon and eggs routine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daphne Crouch
Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent dish. I made it with butter beans since that was all had on hand, and loved it. Had it as a snack in the evening and then with hard boiled eggs for breakfast in the morning. After this I went on a quest for Fava beans scouring every supermarket. Finally I managed to find them in a middle eastern store. Will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is a very good recipe. But; feva beans in general is a very forgiving dish in Egypt. You can eat it individually with just some spices. Combine it with vegetables, Combine it with eggs (which is yummy), melting butter (which traditionally requires the dish to be beans, butter, salt & pepper only!) OR the famous Egyptian fava beans with linen seed oil (which is a bit chili if you're not used to it)! You can also serve it cold or hot. Just do diff alterations until you reach your desired preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radwa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
My all time favorite dish. I guess being an Egyptian I was predisposed to loving this dip. Garlic isn't a must in this (I usually don't add it) and parsley is NOT typically used. I must have eaten this more than anything else. During Ramadan, this is almost always served for the pre-dawn meal. It fills you up as it's high in fiber and so very nutritious to keep you going through the fasting hours. Tahini (sesame paste) is a wonderful accompaniment to it and green onions too. The closest western relative to this is refried beans. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Giza, Al-Jizah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States