Fabulous Homemade Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2001
I am crazy over this bread!! I use honey istead of sugar and when I break it up into smaller loaves, I add whatever I like to it: sesame seeds, caraway seeds, flax seed, or just raisins and a hint of cinnamon. I even tried it with sprouts in it!! It is just such a flexible recipe. I have froze some at that time and I have also frozen it after baking so I could take a loaf out of the freezer when I needed it. Normally, my husband and I do not eat a lot of bread but this is so good and so easy that we usually make it once a month. Rose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
Still my favorite!!! I can easily adjust wheat flour, oatmeal, and throw in some cracked wheat and still come out with great flavor and moisture. I haven't found a better recipe YET! even after trying some from Breadworld.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
This bread has a great flavor and is so quick and easy - it really only takes 3 hours to have 6 loaves of really great tasting bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
I substitute honey for sugar, and reduce the flour to 8 cups. I also knead by hand, in order to get the feel of the finished dough before putting it in a bowl to rise. It makes 4 large loaves. This is by far the best bread recipe I have used, and I have used quite a few. Everyone one wants a loaf or two, so I seem to be making it frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
We recently moved and I couldn't locate my tried and true wheat bread recipe so tried this one. It is wonderful. Everyone really enjoyed it. This will replace the recipe (that I have now found) that I have used for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
Nothing as wonderful as your hands in dough. Brings even the the busiest person back to "earth". Great recipe with just the right texture and feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
I loved this bread! I didn't have bread flour though, so I added 1/2 cup high gluten and the rest all purpose. I also allowed it to rise again after punching it down the first time, then formed the loaves. The texture was perfect--not crumbly or course! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
This recipe was rather easy for a bread recipe and made good bread. There was no way that we could eat 6 loaves of bread before they went bad so after I let the dough rise the first time and shaped the loaves I froze the dough. This was very easy, just once the loaves are shaped cover them in Saran Wrap before they are allowed to rise. Then freeze them in a ziplock bag. I've heard that you can keep the dough like this for up to 3 months, but I am really not sure. When you are ready for a fresh loaf just unwrap the dough and place it in the pan, cover and let rise. It will take several hours to thaw and rise, but it will. A very easy way to always have fresh homemafe bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
627 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEFULCRAFTY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
THANK YOU! I have tried several bread recipes and have had horrible results. This recipe was AWESOME! It reminds me of the homemade bread my mom used to make, but hers was shredded wheat bread w/ molasses. She always makes her bread from scratch, but I cheat w/ a mixer & dough hook. I halved the recipe as 6 loaves was way too much for my family of 4 (plus my mixer could handle that much dough). This will be added to my bread recipe collection right next to my Mom's recipe. I should find that and post it too ... haven't seen one like it at this site!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This bread was great, but I like to make 2 lbs. loaves, so I get just 4 loaves out of this recipe. Love the texture, flavor! Do not be afraid to try this recipe, it really is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States