Fabulous Homemade Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This recipe was really easy and the taste and texture are amazing. I cut the recipe in half, but kept the oil at the same amount. I also used white sugar by mistake. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was SOOOOO good! I have never made bread before, and don't have a large mixer with a dough hook, so I did it by hand. It was quite easy, and the bread is probably the best bread I have ever tasted. We ate it with spaghetti one night, and with soup the next. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I'm new to bread making and I have to say this is the easiest yet most delicious bread I've made so far. It was a hit for my kids. My husband and kids ate a loaf and a half within 20 mins of it being out of the oven. So amazing and delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraWestergren
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I've made MANY recipes from this website and this is the only one that has prompted me to write a review. YUM YUM! This bread is very little work for what the outcome is. It has a lightly sweet flavor, is tender and chewy and not at all crumbly. This is the best homemade bread recipe I've made, and I've made quite a few. I will not be buying store-bought bread anymore since this is so easy and so delicious without all the nasty preservatives/additives. I'm glad I found this recipe to use for my kid's sandwiches too. I made the full recipe, which gets to be a little much if you use the standard Kitchen Aid stand-up mixer. The dough was coming out of the bowl when I was using the dough hook to knead it. However, it is great to get 6 loaves of homemade bread (we froze 4). Also, I ended up using only 9 cups of bread flour vs 10. Happy bread making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I have tried other homemade bread recipes before and my famliy of 6 was never too thrilled about them. They couldn't get enough of this recipe and ate all 4 loafs in 2 day's (other 2 loafs we gifted out) and are requesting more. I didn't have brown sugar so substituted with 1/3 cup 100% Pure Maple Syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
One of the reviews on here said .25 oz is equal to 1.5 tablespoons. Being new to bread making I believed that. After a few failed attempts I looked into it. It is actually 2 1/4 tsp NOT tablespoons. I hope you see this before the other review. It makes a big difference. Now it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This has become my favorite base bread recipe. I replace most of the bread flour with whole wheat flour and add grains and seeds and it always makes a wonderful loaf of bread. When I go below 2 cups of bread flour I add 1 or 2 tbs of Virtual Gluten and it has never failed to make beautiful loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Ok, NOTHING I"ve ever made from this site, while good, was enough to prompt me to write a review = but I've made bread pretty frequently and I almost always mess it up (too hard or too dry etc.) but this recipe was absolutely amazing to the point that even I did it correctly and our bread turned out AMAZING. The only thing that I did differently was that I halved the recipe. I did everything else the way it was written and made 3 wonderful, fluffy loaves. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ampurdy77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Awesome! Since this recipe makes so much I used it last year as my "food gift" with a jar of homemade jelly. This bread also freezes beautifully. I made mine without a bread machine and it came out perfect, just be sure to use the biggest bowl you have for mixing/rising, you will need it! Happy Baking and thank you to J. Drury for submitting! This recipe has become my everyday bread, I bake a batch freeze all but one loaf and thaw and use them as needed, NO MORE BUYING BREAD FOR ME! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was so good!! I cut it down to 24 servings and made it in my bread machine. It came out a nice dense, flavorful loaf!! I used All Purpose Flour with an egg white to give it the extra protein that bread flour has in it. This will be my go to recipe from now on!!! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Zuch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States