Fabulous Homemade Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I used my Bosch mixer. I used all fresh ground whole wheat flour (plus the oats) and added 1/4 cup vital wheat gluten. Delicious and all whole grains! I made 4 loaves and a dozen rolls. Next time I may make more rolls. They are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Love this bread! I, too, used regular oats and cut in food processer. Served this with Cream of Mushroom Soup I by Karena on this site and it was a perfect pairing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This recipe was really easy and the taste and texture are amazing. I cut the recipe in half, but kept the oil at the same amount. I also used white sugar by mistake. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was SOOOOO good! I have never made bread before, and don't have a large mixer with a dough hook, so I did it by hand. It was quite easy, and the bread is probably the best bread I have ever tasted. We ate it with spaghetti one night, and with soup the next. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I'm new to bread making and I have to say this is the easiest yet most delicious bread I've made so far. It was a hit for my kids. My husband and kids ate a loaf and a half within 20 mins of it being out of the oven. So amazing and delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraWestergren
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I've made MANY recipes from this website and this is the only one that has prompted me to write a review. YUM YUM! This bread is very little work for what the outcome is. It has a lightly sweet flavor, is tender and chewy and not at all crumbly. This is the best homemade bread recipe I've made, and I've made quite a few. I will not be buying store-bought bread anymore since this is so easy and so delicious without all the nasty preservatives/additives. I'm glad I found this recipe to use for my kid's sandwiches too. I made the full recipe, which gets to be a little much if you use the standard Kitchen Aid stand-up mixer. The dough was coming out of the bowl when I was using the dough hook to knead it. However, it is great to get 6 loaves of homemade bread (we froze 4). Also, I ended up using only 9 cups of bread flour vs 10. Happy bread making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I have tried other homemade bread recipes before and my famliy of 6 was never too thrilled about them. They couldn't get enough of this recipe and ate all 4 loafs in 2 day's (other 2 loafs we gifted out) and are requesting more. I didn't have brown sugar so substituted with 1/3 cup 100% Pure Maple Syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
One of the reviews on here said .25 oz is equal to 1.5 tablespoons. Being new to bread making I believed that. After a few failed attempts I looked into it. It is actually 2 1/4 tsp NOT tablespoons. I hope you see this before the other review. It makes a big difference. Now it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This has become my favorite base bread recipe. I replace most of the bread flour with whole wheat flour and add grains and seeds and it always makes a wonderful loaf of bread. When I go below 2 cups of bread flour I add 1 or 2 tbs of Virtual Gluten and it has never failed to make beautiful loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Ok, NOTHING I"ve ever made from this site, while good, was enough to prompt me to write a review = but I've made bread pretty frequently and I almost always mess it up (too hard or too dry etc.) but this recipe was absolutely amazing to the point that even I did it correctly and our bread turned out AMAZING. The only thing that I did differently was that I halved the recipe. I did everything else the way it was written and made 3 wonderful, fluffy loaves. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ampurdy77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States