Fabulous Homemade Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I have started baking my own bread and am trying out different recipes. This bread is fabulous! I put the oats in a coffee grinder as another suggested and it worked great. I also used the recipe calculator for two loaves. Although the recipe called for 8x4 bread pans, if you convert to two loaves, 9x5 are perfect. The 8x4's would have been too small. Husband, who is a white bread eater loves this bread too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Great recipe,comes out great every time. I add a cup of flax in place of the wheat. My teens love this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This recipe is great I did it for 36 servings up the yeast by 1/4 Tsp lowered the bread flour by 1 1/2 cups increased whole wheat by 1 cup and it turned out woderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Clarke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Great recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
5 stars for ease in creating this fabulous sandwich bread. I cut the recipe down to make two loaves. The second rising took about twice as long - 2 hours - as noted in the recipe, but patience was all that was needed to get a nice rise. I usually make crusty Italian loaves or rustic breads so this is a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Davenport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Wonderful! Easy & healthy. Made only 24 servings, 2 small loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamou, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I would be sure to freeze some of this bread. I really don't understand the problem with 6 loaves if you have a freezer. Just makes your life a little easier. I love freshly made bread. The store stuff just turns me off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Mckenzie Seiber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: West End, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
The bread rose great the first time, but on the second rise it would not rise above the pans. I let it rise for 2 hours instead of 1 and then baked. Surprisingly it wasn't dense. The flavor and texture were good but the tops stayed kind of flat looking like they hadn't risen all the way. Probably wont make this recipe again, but it wasn't horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Blais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Yes I tried this recipe too with good old fashioned elbow grease too. ?? I only baked it for about 20 minutes and I always brush the tops with margarine or butter, whatever on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
So easy,so good! I'll Use this recipe for the rest of my life. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenna Weinstein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States