Fabulous Homemade Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Easy to make and tastes GREAT! Made some of it into homemade pizza and it was fantastic. Will put this in the front of my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
AMENDED: We had the bread for dinner tonight and I'm changing my ranking to 5 stars. WOW! Light and airy. The bread, if cut when cool with a good bread knife, does not fall apart or crumble. My son had 3 slices! It is very good. I will make this again and again and again. First review: Since the bread is in the oven right now, I'm not sure how the finale will be. However...I'm perplexed to read how some reviewers couldn't get a rise from the dough. No sooner did I get the dough in the oiled bowl, and it started to rise. It doubled in less than an hour. My son, my daughter and I all tasted the dough before I put four loaves in oiled bags to freeze, and two more in loaf pans for a second rise. The dough was nicely flavored, not too sweet and not at all flat. The two loaves rose nicely in the pan in less than an hour. For both rises, I covered the dough with plastic wrap and set it on my counter. As I peek in the oven now, I see two gorgeous lightly golden fluffy loaves of bread baking away, which smell amazing! Other recipes I've tried on this site don't always work. My best advice...use fresh yeast! I get Fleishmann's active dry yeast and keep the jar in my fridge. Bread never fails with fresh yeast. Thank you for the recipe! I think this will be another family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Delicious!! I followed someone's suggestion to substitute honey for the brown sugar and it turned out fantastic. I will definitely use this recipe as my go to for homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Tryon Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is the only bread recipe that comes out light and fluffy every time. I usually reverse the amounts of whole wheat and bread flour for a darker and more fiber rich bread. Also, I usually make rolls instead of loaves, count on 2 servings per roll when scaling down the recipe. I bake the rolls at the given temperature for 14 minutes. The formed rolls freeze very well: just freeze in a freezer bag right after forming them. To bake, get them out of the freezer the night before and let them thaw in the fridge. When completely thawed, let them rise and bake as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I've tried several bread recipes, but none of them were as flavorful and fluffy as this bread. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I have made it before and am making it again today! I follow the recipe exactly and no problems at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanyandjohnk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
So easy to make! This was my first attempt at bread and it turned out great. The crust was crisp and the crumb was soft, but not crumbly so we could spread butter/mayo/peanut butter easily without a mess. Perfect for sandwiches, but I'm wondering if anyone has added anything to it to dress it up, we'll have to look around the reviews. My husband said that he bets some herbs baked into the dough would be amazing...still a very good bread. And sooo easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
WOW!!!! Amazingly delicious and so easy to make. I like that it doesn't require much kneading. I won't be able to enjoy store bought bread anymore! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
The first time I made it with All Purpose Flour instead of wheat because I was out and it was ok but when I made it with the whole wheat flour OMG this was outstanding. They only issue I ever seem to have making it is it never is done start to finish in 3 hours or less though usually takes at least 4-5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katanaqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I've made this recipe twice using a combination of an electric hand mixer and old-school kneading, and each time it came out great! (I have "wow" written down on the recipe.) The only things I did different from the recipe were (1) I cut the recipe down to 2 loaves and (2) it took 33 minutes in my oven. I'm not an experienced bread maker, so I was thrilled to find this recipe and have it turn out so well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States