Extra Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
The only changes I made to this recipe was to add a little oregano and cayenne pepper. Didn't really use much of the bean liquid to avoid the preservative and reduce the sodium. Who needs store bought hummus when you can make your own. The only way thing better than canned beans is fresh ones, if you can get it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, Saint Ann, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
If you want to make it less fattening, add a teaspoon or so of water while blending it. It will come out just as creamy, but without all the extra oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This is definitely extra easy! I had to add more of the spices and I added a little lemon juice. Was not disappointed. I would make this anytime I wanted hummus and didn't have tahini for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I did like a few comments said and added a little bit of lemon juice and some water (didn't think and drained my beans before so couldn't use that). It was delicious though and my new favorite hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I've made a recipe similar to this for years because I absolutely hate store-bought hummus...because of the overwhelming taste of tahini. I add a bit more garlic and olive oil to help with the consistency. I also add a splash of lemon juice and chopped sun-dried tomatoes. It's always a hit with family and friends. Thank you for this tahini-free recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
My almost 2 year old daughter can't have sesame but has always loved hummus. This was a terrific, easy recipe that she was eating with both hands and had all over her face - she was so pleased. I will probably reduce the salt a bit but that's just personal preference. Thanks so much for the easy delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I omitted the olive oil. It's not necessary. I halfed the cumin because 2 teaspoons seemed a bit much. 1 good sized clove of garlic is fine. I would only use 2 if they were small cloves. I used 3 tablespoons of the bean juice and added juice from half of a small lemon which was 1 tablespoon. Be careful with salting this as it is plenty salty to begin with from the beans. I blended it up in the blender tried it out and it was wonderful except for the lack of tahini. I added 2 drops of smoked sesame oil and reblended it. My girlfriend said it was the best hummus she'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is a great recipe. It's easy, and there are many different ways you can spice it up to your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I just finished making this and I must say it was yummy(: I had a lot of cans of chickpeas in pantry that I needed to get rid of. So I needed something quick and easy this was a hit. I followed one of recommendations by doubling the garlic, cutting the ground cumin in half, and adding a dash of red pepper, and lemon juice ! Delicious(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
My very first home made hummus! I added extra garlic and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States