Extra Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I made this for a get together about a month ago and everybody loved this. This was the first time to make hummus without the tahini. I'm making it again as my hubby really liked it. This time I'm going to add some roasted red peppers. It would be a great addition to a wrap or sandwich. UPDATE: I MADE THIS WITH ROASTED RED PEPPERS AND IT WAS AMAZING!!! I LOVE THIS STUFF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This was a great base recipe! I tried it just as the recipe calls for and then made a few adjustments. I added about a teaspoon of lemon juice and just a few sundried tomatoes to add a little something extra. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This was an excellent basic recipe. It has more of a dip consistency, and isn't as creamy as sesame based hummus, but all the same, I found it to be delicious. I added 1 tsp greek seasoning, lemon juice, white pepper, extra garlic and 1/4 roasted red pepper. I also added a few drops of sesame oil which it could have went without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Licavoli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I rated it 4 because it needed so many adjustments. I agree with everyone else only use half the cumin, next time i would even go light handed with it. It needed the lemon to brighten it up, I think thats definitely necessary. I used 1tbs. but I think that was a bit much. Im' still waiting for it to sit in the fridge and blend, so i'll know what the final outcome is in about an hour. I wanted to make mine a roasted garlic version. I'm a garlic nut. I'll defn. add more of that next time. i roasted about 4 cloves in the oven with olive oil and added a few dashes of garlic powder and the cumin/sesame oil still overpowered it. I read some reviews saying they used sesame oil instead of olive oil. In the same tablespoon i did half olive oil half sesame. I think it gave it that traditional hummus flavor but i'll use more olive oil next time. I still think this is a great basic recipe. I live in Japan and tahini is hard to come by. I've been craving hummus and came across this recipe! I'll keep this is my books til i perfect it to my taste! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baker at  heart
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I agree w/ other reviews: 1/2 the cumin, add in 1 Tbl. lemon juice. I used less salt as my pita chips are quite salty already ;) I did add in 2 tsp. of fresh chopped parsley too. Also for kick, when it's done, put it in a bowl and swirl on some Siracha hot sauce on top, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Rated only 4 starts since I had to change it so much. Surprisingly, I had all of the ingredients needed for this hummus! I read the reviews beforehand and added in my own tweaks. I feel like these ingredients are a good BASE to a hummus recipe. I omitted the olive oil, doubled the cans of garbanzo beans, added 3 cloves of garlic and a tablespoon of garlic powder (I like it garlic-ky!), the juice of a whole lemon (I like it tangy!), and a tablespoon of sesame oil since I had no tahini, salt to taste, and a dash of paprika. It turned out really yummy! I will be bringing this to class for my lunch break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Yummy! I used sesame oil instead of olive oil, only 1 1/2 tsp of cumin, and added ground red pepper to taste. This is going on my favorites list!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Was not a fan of this at all, even though i really wanted to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very good base recipe but needs a lil something. I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne, extra lemon, garlic powder and dried onion to taste. Even though my last ingredient sour cream is not very traditional, it made it creamier and added more protein. I used organic reduced fat sour cream and the final result was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Yum! We have sesame allergies in the family so this was perfect and my picky 2 year old loves it and she never tries anything new. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEJUNKIE
Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States