Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
My family loved this! My husband went on and on about how good it was. My kids are 8 and 10 and they both devoured the enchiladas I made. I made a simple eat and rice mixture inside some soft gluten free wraps. Put sauce on the bottom of the pan and covered the enchiladas with the rest of the sauce. I also made the sauce with a gluten free flour blend. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Really good! I used The Spice Hunter New Mexico chile pepper. Left out the chocolate since I didn't have it. Used with ground turkey, onion, garlic, flour tortillas, and Monterey jack cheese. Super yummy! My husband and daughter prefer the tomato-based sauce in the "Beef Enchiladas with spicy red sauce" recipe by Vicky Boozer on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I was in the mood for tortlilla soup and didn't have enchilada sauce. Thought about doing a sauce that I make with steak enchiladas... But although amazing, I needed something quick since the soup is done in a crock pot. I was shocked with how simple and quick this was... Not to mention AMAZING! it was great without the chocolate and then I added 1/4 of an oz and was was surprised about how great it was, (never got into the secret of the chocolate) ended up throwing the rest in ;) I cut chili power to teaspoons from Tbl... Couldn't even begin to imagine how that would over power the sauce. But I did 4 tea reg chili powder and 1 Tea ancho chili powder. The last I did was throw in all in a food processor only because I was using this for tortilla soup and since it has zucchini, squash, onion and tomato chunks in it, just wanted a smooth sauce!!!! Never ever will I buy canned again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made this as written and then put the recipe in my nutrition calculator. Sodium is not 35 mg per serving as you say. It is 182 mg per serving, so I can't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Excellent recipe! Deep rich flavor with a lot of complexity. We made enchiladas from another all recipes recipe but added my home-made salsa verde and a can of green chilis, plus garlic powder, salt, pepper and some Lawrey's seasoning (but not too much). The salsa verde gave the enchiladas a bit of spice which complimented the sauce. Definitely a make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
We didn't have cumin or chili powder and used a modified amount of red pepper. Soooo delicious. now we have all the ingredients and can't wait to make it again. It is our go to sauce now. really yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Tried this for the first time tonight and it was very good. I did as one poster suggested and used beef broth along with the chicken broth. Also, using an immersion blender made the sauce lovely and smooth (after simmering for about 1/2 hour). Adding the juice of 1/2 lime (squeezed gently) and changing the chocolate to semi-sweet gave it a nice tang. Measuring isn't something I do and did not do so with this recipe. I just taste-tested along the way and it turned out wonderfully. It was a hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Pretty good, although I had to add more cornstarch so this wasn't completely runny. I tasted after simmering on the stove for 30-60 mins and I wasn't a huge fan of the taste so I added 2 tbsp. salsa and pureed it with a stick blender. So much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great , I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States