Empanadas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
The dough was extremely difficult to make. The filling, however, was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I used Goya empanada discs and I fried them...fabulous fruit filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
not impressed. the filling was ok at best, tasted a lot like a canned sloppy joe--and I've made a lot of crusts or pies, whatever, and this dough would not work...couldn't get it thin enough to hold the meat and too thick it tasted like unlevened bread. would never attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I am rating the pastry only, because I made up my own filling. The pastry is very light, and very flaky. Mine didn't brown that well (maybe needs an egg wash?) but tasted fantastic nonetheless. I kept thinking "this would make a great pie crust!" Here's what I filled with: 1/2 lb. Jimmy Dean breakfast sausage, 1 lb. ground beef, 1 boiled yellow bell pepper choppped(left over from stuffed pepper recipe), 1/2 vidalia onion chopped, 2 cloves garlic minced, 1 can diced tomatoes w/lime and cilantro, 2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp coriander, salt and pepper to taste. I had twice as much filling as I needed, so I froze the rest. Hubby and son LOVED it. Yay! My first empanadas! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Made the dessert recipe and it urned out good, the dough isn't exactly right but still tasty. easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
The dough was tasty very much like a pastry dough, However I don’t think that’s how an empanada crust is supposed to taste like. It was difficult to determine how much filling I could get in the dough, not much and trying to close them up without ripping the dough was a dilemma. As for the meat filling I used beef, potatoe, sazon, a little of adobo and some tomato sauce; it was great. I think I might try another recipe this one didn’t seem to meet my standards nor was it much like a traditional tasting empanada (as far as the crust is concerned). Too Bad :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I made these as desert empanadas for a "mexican themed" gathering I attended. They were quite good, and everyone liked them. Regarding the dough, I put the ingredients in my breadmaker and let it do the kneading for me and I just had to add a touch of flour. Turned out great. I got really lucky on the oil temp with no thermometer, and they fried up nicely.. flaky and a lot like a pastry dough, really. The only drawback was how difficult to judge how much filling I could get in the dough (not very much), and trying to seal these suckers up without ripping the dough was a bear! I think next time I'll make more dough and roll them out a little bit larger and thicker just to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
FANTASTIC!!!! My boyfriend is from South America and he was so excited when I made these for him. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
Very good!!! Especially the apple variety. You could substitute any meat for the steak and perhaps add more spices to taste. Go wild...be creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIRE27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
These were definitely not bad. We did need to add a bit more water than called for, but I thought the dough was excellent. However, it was more like a pot-pie or pie dough and not the typical empanada dough. But it was good and with a little ingenuity, you could fill these with tons of wonderful things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States