Empanadas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
I loved the empanadas but I like the empanadas that my mother makes better. You can also just have cheese for the filling. It tastes soo good that I just had to tell you all. Your Friend, Francisca A.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I am rating the pastry only, because I made up my own filling. The pastry is very light, and very flaky. Mine didn't brown that well (maybe needs an egg wash?) but tasted fantastic nonetheless. I kept thinking "this would make a great pie crust!" Here's what I filled with: 1/2 lb. Jimmy Dean breakfast sausage, 1 lb. ground beef, 1 boiled yellow bell pepper choppped(left over from stuffed pepper recipe), 1/2 vidalia onion chopped, 2 cloves garlic minced, 1 can diced tomatoes w/lime and cilantro, 2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp coriander, salt and pepper to taste. I had twice as much filling as I needed, so I froze the rest. Hubby and son LOVED it. Yay! My first empanadas! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
This was a ton of work for a disaster I ended up throwing away. Fault may have been partially mine - I don't work much with dough - but even pulling the filling out and trying to eat it separately didn't work. It was so bland! Didn't taste anything like any of the empanadas I've had. I only made the meat empanadas, but I won't be trying the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
It is real easy if you find out that you can use PITAS'!!! And if you do you can just half them & put in the filling of your choise!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I made these as desert empanadas for a "mexican themed" gathering I attended. They were quite good, and everyone liked them. Regarding the dough, I put the ingredients in my breadmaker and let it do the kneading for me and I just had to add a touch of flour. Turned out great. I got really lucky on the oil temp with no thermometer, and they fried up nicely.. flaky and a lot like a pastry dough, really. The only drawback was how difficult to judge how much filling I could get in the dough (not very much), and trying to seal these suckers up without ripping the dough was a bear! I think next time I'll make more dough and roll them out a little bit larger and thicker just to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
These rolled out really well, I thought it was to wet at first, but it was all ok after I started rolling with flour. Everyone at work liked them, we used them for a cooking project for the disabaled and if they can do it which they did I can get my kids to roll them too. GREAT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
FANTASTIC!!!! My boyfriend is from South America and he was so excited when I made these for him. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
was a waste of my time and supplies. I followed the recipe to the "T" and it flopped!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2000
Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe. However, if you want to cut down preparation time you can get pre-made empanada dough. It can be found in your grocery's store freezer. I prefer the brand "El Sembrador". And you can fill the empanada with whatever you want. It is great for when you have leftover chicken as well. Just add the cooked chicken and any topping you and your family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States