Empanadas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I followed this recipe to the T and it tasted good but the empanada dough was not what I expected to me it felt more like a cookie dough or a pie crust, being Latin I was very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodcurious
Living In: Hialeah, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
very good and flaky. Best with sweet fillings. Dough is a challenge to work with, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Marckwordt- Lowery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe. However, if you want to cut down preparation time you can get pre-made empanada dough. It can be found in your grocery's store freezer. I prefer the brand "El Sembrador". And you can fill the empanada with whatever you want. It is great for when you have leftover chicken as well. Just add the cooked chicken and any topping you and your family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
The filling was tasty. I was in a rush and tried to cheat by using ready made pie crusts, I dont recommend it. Next time I will make the crust myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyLane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I used this recipe for a Mexican dinner party, and they turned out great. Everyone enjoyed them! I had some trouble with the dough and actually had to make two batches of dough to use up most of the apple filling (this made enough empanadas for 10 people). Also I thought this was a rather easy recipe for such a delicious treat! I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
very good I used pie filling and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
i made this with everything but the meat (both the apple filling and the tomato paste/onion/pepper filling together. it was a huge hit at the potluck i took it to and i've since made it again. DELICIOUS! (i did make the dough 1/2 whole wheat and rolled it out in cornmeal--worked great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
We loved this. Instead of adding meat, all I had on hand was ham lunch meat so I put just a little tomato sauce, sauted onions, and grated cheese. I sprinkled in a little lemon pepper, garlic powder and paprika. I made an egg wash for the pastry. I'm thinking this would be a great way to use up leftovers as filling, such as meatloaf, stew, stir fry. We'll be fixing these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I have mixed feelings about this recipe. It was good and my kids liked it, but not really as an "empanada". The crust is basically a pie crust and that kinds of alters the taste a little for me. All that being said it is still a good recipe. I always try to only rate recipes that I follow as written, but I accidentally altered this one. I was going to make the meat as written and I went into auto pilot and made it a different way. I used steak and seasoned with onion powder, garlic powder and cumin. Then I dumped a bottle of salsa on it and cooked it all day in the crock pot. After I made the crust I shredded the meat with a fork, drained the juice and put it in the crust. The meat was delicious! I just might look for another recipe when I'm craving empenadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkwilson5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatesville, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
These were good, the dough was a little bland, but all in all good. The dough wasn't as hard for me, it worked out fine, and the filling is pritty much exactly what I put into my Apple Pie. It taste like a mini Apple Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States