Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I found the taste to be very good, although not spicy enough to give a kick - didn't need that though. I made these exactly as written (I don't think it's fair to ever rate a recipe not done so). The cookies spread and end up thin and crispy, and the cut-out shapes became blobs only a little bit similar to what they should have looked like. Could be the atmosphere, the gas oven, or me. I've been baking in my successful cafe/catering business for nearly 20 years, and this is the first time I've ever had difficulty with a highly rated recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia I.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Great. Everybody liked them. I am going to use real nutmeg next time and half as much clove since it can be overpowering for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlesOchoa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Delicious, sp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Follow the recipe, it is perfect. Make sure your chill the dough. It is an essential step. Don't over work the dough. After a few rollouts just make hand shaped round cookies with the leftovers. Best eaten warm but they freeze well once cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I felt that this was a bit salty. Flavor was good regarding the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I used butter and not margarine but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. These are just as good as my moms and made the best ninjabread men for my son's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I loved them my sister made them and I lloovveedd them so much thanks for outing them on allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is my new favorite cookie. I used butter instead of margarine, and brown sugar instead of white. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakiFiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a extremely yummy cookie! Just enough bite, soft and really yummy! I think you have to keep the dough in the fridge so it doesn't get soft and sticky. Great cookie I'd give 6 star if I could Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Made these ginger men for my kids Xmas party all the kids loved them! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephaniePadilla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 921) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States