Eggplant Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Excellent!! This was delicious - instead of broiling, I baked the eggplant (400 degrees for 45 minutes), then peeled, drained and chopped it. I also decreased the olive oil down to 2T rather than 3T. Will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I have had eggplant caviar many many times and it has never tasted or looked this bad. Dill does not belong in eggplant caviar. 'Nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
I added a little garlic powder and used chopped scallions. Everyone spread it on crackers and raved at our family reunion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
I found my first attempt with this recipe a little too salty--my fault for seasoning before tasting. I think when I make this again--and I will--I'll add 2 cloves of garlic, a little lemon juice, and cut down the salt. I found it to taste better cold. Not kiddy food, but the grownups will like it. Thanks, Ms. Mann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwynne Kloch
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I make a version of this from a different recipe that has garlic and capers instead of onions, and basil and parsley instead of dill. I bake some pita bread to make "chips" to server alongside this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This is delicious with some slight alterations. All they had at the grocery store were slightly smaller eggplants so I broiled it 10 minutes on each side. In the meantime, I sauteed an entire small onion I diced with 2 cloves of smashed and chopped garlic in just a tad bit of olive oil. It only took a few minutes. I added that to the eggplant pulp. I didn't measure my other ingredients. I did it more to taste. I also left out the dill. It did need a nice amount of kosher salt to add some flavor. I plan on making this all the time. My husband and I both love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Yep. Looks icky in the end, and still tastes really good. I took pts from other reviewers...cut back on OO, added garlic powder, cut back on dill a bit. I like the fact that it is low-cal, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Well, this recipe definately caught my eye! Eggplant Caviar?? It is WONDERFUL. Even if you don't like eggplant, you'll never notice it! This is definately a dish for onion lovers. It is quite oniony. I had this as an appetizer for Easter Dinner and everyone loved it! ***Note: It looks quite icky once mixed, but it's delicious, never fear!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Everyone loved this recipe - even the kids. The dill makes it. The only thing I measured was the olive oil, and it was not greasy at all. Omitted the salt. Yes, it does not look all that appealing, but once you convince people to give it a try, they really like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I gave this 2 stars because I spent more time tweaking this recipe that it ended up being different than the original recipe. So much that I will make whatever it was again. I thought this recipe was bland and I added small diced tomato, pine nuts and seasonings. I wasn't crazy about the dill idea so at first I omitted the dill. After tasting and tasting with the salt and pepper (onion and garlic powder too) I finally added the dill and that helped but something was still missing. I love eggplant and always looking for new ways to prepare it. This recipe is a great base to add your favorite seasonings if your not happy with the dill or taste. This may be about balance - between the salt olive oil and pepper?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States