Eggplant Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I have had eggplant caviar many many times and it has never tasted or looked this bad. Dill does not belong in eggplant caviar. 'Nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
HOT and tasty for nice and tasty ppl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I was disappointed in both the flavor and appearance of this dish. I didn't have fresh dill because I couldn't find it in the store so maybe that makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
You know how it is - you see a recipe, read rave review after rave review. You make the meal, and it's fantastic! You look back at the reviews and see one that gives the meal 1 star. You wonder 'What the?? What planet is this person on? The meal was awesome!!!' Well, as far as this recipe goes, I *am* that person. Sorry, but this was horrible. It looks unappetizing, smells weird and tastes even weirder. This is the 3rd time I've had egg-plant (or 'aubergine' as we call it back home), and I have yet to see the appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Thank you Bertha for sharing this YUMMY recipe. i wouldn't change a thing about it. KUDOS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBINNV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Ely, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This is delicious with some slight alterations. All they had at the grocery store were slightly smaller eggplants so I broiled it 10 minutes on each side. In the meantime, I sauteed an entire small onion I diced with 2 cloves of smashed and chopped garlic in just a tad bit of olive oil. It only took a few minutes. I added that to the eggplant pulp. I didn't measure my other ingredients. I did it more to taste. I also left out the dill. It did need a nice amount of kosher salt to add some flavor. I plan on making this all the time. My husband and I both love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
This was much too salty, but has good flavor. The consistency was too slimy and I wasn't sure how to fix that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
It was quite good for how simple the recipe is though there was a bit too much salt in the original recipe for my liking. An unusual taste at least as far as my personal experiences go but enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Well, this recipe definately caught my eye! Eggplant Caviar?? It is WONDERFUL. Even if you don't like eggplant, you'll never notice it! This is definately a dish for onion lovers. It is quite oniony. I had this as an appetizer for Easter Dinner and everyone loved it! ***Note: It looks quite icky once mixed, but it's delicious, never fear!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This pleases vegetarians and meat eaters alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States