Eggplant Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I have had eggplant caviar many many times and it has never tasted or looked this bad. Dill does not belong in eggplant caviar. 'Nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
HOT and tasty for nice and tasty ppl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I was disappointed in both the flavor and appearance of this dish. I didn't have fresh dill because I couldn't find it in the store so maybe that makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
You know how it is - you see a recipe, read rave review after rave review. You make the meal, and it's fantastic! You look back at the reviews and see one that gives the meal 1 star. You wonder 'What the?? What planet is this person on? The meal was awesome!!!' Well, as far as this recipe goes, I *am* that person. Sorry, but this was horrible. It looks unappetizing, smells weird and tastes even weirder. This is the 3rd time I've had egg-plant (or 'aubergine' as we call it back home), and I have yet to see the appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Thank you Bertha for sharing this YUMMY recipe. i wouldn't change a thing about it. KUDOS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBINNV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Ely, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This is delicious with some slight alterations. All they had at the grocery store were slightly smaller eggplants so I broiled it 10 minutes on each side. In the meantime, I sauteed an entire small onion I diced with 2 cloves of smashed and chopped garlic in just a tad bit of olive oil. It only took a few minutes. I added that to the eggplant pulp. I didn't measure my other ingredients. I did it more to taste. I also left out the dill. It did need a nice amount of kosher salt to add some flavor. I plan on making this all the time. My husband and I both love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
This was much too salty, but has good flavor. The consistency was too slimy and I wasn't sure how to fix that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
It was quite good for how simple the recipe is though there was a bit too much salt in the original recipe for my liking. An unusual taste at least as far as my personal experiences go but enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Well, this recipe definately caught my eye! Eggplant Caviar?? It is WONDERFUL. Even if you don't like eggplant, you'll never notice it! This is definately a dish for onion lovers. It is quite oniony. I had this as an appetizer for Easter Dinner and everyone loved it! ***Note: It looks quite icky once mixed, but it's delicious, never fear!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This pleases vegetarians and meat eaters alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States