Eggplant Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made some tasty changes to this recipe. I grilled the onions and garlic, gave it a wonderful taste instead of raw onions. I did not add the dill, instead I added capers to taste along with the salt and pepper. I added 2 tablespoons of EVO and boy was this Eggplant the best. I had a similar dish at a Persian Restaurant called the BandBar in the Gas Lamp District of San Diego, California and the eggplant was the best appetizer I have ever eaten with Middle Eastern flat bread...Wow!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mlmac2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I modified this recipe since it looked too plain to me. To save time I used my meat grinder and grinded eggplants, tomatoes, onions. Mixed it all in a bowl and instead of olive oil, I added mayo with some salt and pepper. Of course garlic is a must in this dish. I love this with rice crispy crackers and my daughter loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Not like my mom used to make. Eggplant has to be chopped too with a knife along with onions and tomatoes. Add a little garlic (chopped) and that is it. The secret is how to chop eggplant. It has to be in little pieces no larger than 1/8 of the inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I must have done something wrong when I cooked this. It was not very tasteful even though it was edible. I am not rating how it looks because there is nothing u can do about how mashed eggplant looks. Will try one more time, maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: East Meadow, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
it was missing something in flavor. Also, I baked for 10 minutes on each side and when I cut it open, it wasn't cooked in the middle, so I baked longer, but still--it was hard to scoop out the insides and the texture wasn't quite as smooth as I would have hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I gave this 2 stars because I spent more time tweaking this recipe that it ended up being different than the original recipe. So much that I will make whatever it was again. I thought this recipe was bland and I added small diced tomato, pine nuts and seasonings. I wasn't crazy about the dill idea so at first I omitted the dill. After tasting and tasting with the salt and pepper (onion and garlic powder too) I finally added the dill and that helped but something was still missing. I love eggplant and always looking for new ways to prepare it. This recipe is a great base to add your favorite seasonings if your not happy with the dill or taste. This may be about balance - between the salt olive oil and pepper?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Everyone loved this recipe - even the kids. The dill makes it. The only thing I measured was the olive oil, and it was not greasy at all. Omitted the salt. Yes, it does not look all that appealing, but once you convince people to give it a try, they really like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Yep. Looks icky in the end, and still tastes really good. I took pts from other reviewers...cut back on OO, added garlic powder, cut back on dill a bit. I like the fact that it is low-cal, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Waaaay too salty...Im not sure if it was my fault or the recipes fault lol. Would have been good if the sodium wasnt SOOO high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Photo by Gwynne Kloch
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I make a version of this from a different recipe that has garlic and capers instead of onions, and basil and parsley instead of dill. I bake some pita bread to make "chips" to server alongside this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States