Egg Yolk Tempra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
we use this every year for christmas cookies. they are sooo pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
this was easy and fun if you have the extra time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
The coloring was dull, not shiny like the pic, but it was ok..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Cute idea! I made red, yellow, and green; unfortunately the red turned kind of orangey from the egg yolk. I "fingerpainted" the stuff onto the cookies to control thickness and also added some sprinkles on top. It really jazzed up my peanut butter cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was a really fast and easy way to add color to my Valentine's Day heart sugar cookies. Unfortunately, due to the yellow color of the yolk, my red had a orange tint to it. No one cared though. But it really has to be applied thinly. A little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
My cookies did not resemble the picture at all. I put a thin coat as was suggested and the cookies were pale and streaky. I ended up covering all the cookies with icing to save the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Fun and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
very cool! i didn't change the recipe and i applied it thinly. came out just like the picture! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anesia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
i love this recipe. my mom always decorated sugar cookies like this as i was growing up and i could never remember how she made it until i found this recipe. the egg yolk part rang a bell. the shiny finish is great and a lot faster than waiting for the cookies to cool and making a whole icing recipe. just a note, this recipe is purely for looks. it wont have a sweet icing taste. there's really no taste at all but if you have a good cookie recipe, it doesn't matter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runswscissors949

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
After reading the negative reviews (smells/tastes bad) I was almost scared away from trying. But I was disperate for a quick decorating trick. This worked great - NO BAD SMELL, and TASTES great. One recipe makes enough to decorate 60+ cookies. I mixed the egg and water and then separated it into 5 small bowls to add desired color(s). It brushed on easily (I don't know how you could make it too thick, it is a very thin wash). I then added colored sprinkles/colored sugar and baked. The result was quick and pretty cookies that tasted great too. I baked the cookies on parchment paper, I used one sheet for all the cookies - no stains or any problems like others complained of. Definitely recommend for kids of all ages. This would also be great to use as a base and then add piped icing designs after the cookies are baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States