Easy Pizza Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
OMG! With a little TLC, this sauce tastes just like the sauce in NYC Pizzerias! I added 1/2Tbs basil, 1/2tsp sugar + 1/2 tsp onion powder. Just popped in the blender and Viola! Perfection! Thank You for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEED330

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This pizza sauce, with just a few minor tweaks, was AMAZING on my pizza! I used a couple of the suggestions made my another reviewer of this recipe (CINDY18LOU). I only used 2 teaspoons of oregano, and I added 2 teaspoons of basil and 1/2 teaspoon of white sugar. And with those tweaks, I made a Chicago-style stuffed pizza that was absolutely amazing! You can go to my page to read my reviews of those other two recipes and what I did to make them. I used the "Jay's Signature Pizza Crust" and "Chicago-style stuffed pizza" recipes (with minor tweaks to the latter) to make an amazing pizza! Highly recommended! Also, this sauce makes an amazing spaghetti sauce!! And with the 2nd batch, for spaghetti only, I added about 1/2 teaspoon of fennel, which added another very yummy taste to the mix! Next time, I'm going to mix in some ground beef for what I'm sure will be a stellar meat sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
674 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
About reducing the acid in this recipe, a digestive concern from an earlier reviewer: Sugar was recommended by another reviewer, but it is actually acidic. It cuts the acidic taste, but not the effect in your belly. (The cheese on the pizza, and the white flour in the crust also push the digestive acid levels up.) Instead (or in addition), add baking soda. Really. Remember those baking soda and vinegar "volcanoes" in Middle School? That should remind you of what you need in order to neutralize the acid. With all the strong flavors in this sauce, my guess is 1 tsp will go without notice. Add more, if you want. You could probably sneak some into a homemade crust, too. If heartburn is a frequent problem for you, do a search on "alkaline diet" for more tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
548 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
nice easy sauce. I froze the left over sauce in an ice cube tray, then transfered cubes to zip top freezer bag so I can just defrost as many cubes as I need for the next pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
With modifications, very good! Based on reviews I decided to use fresh garlic (2 cloves), 2 tsp of basil, 1/2 tsp of sugar, 1/2 a tsp of onion powder, and only 2t dried oregano. Still very easy! Used with 'Grilled Pizza Wraps' recipe on this site. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
We (my boyfriend and I) really enjoyed this sauce. I followed others suggestions and added a little bit of sugar. I also added some basil, onion powder, some pepper flakes and some more italian seasoning. It was really good! This was my first time making my own pizza sauce. Only have had it from the pizza places. I think I will continue to use this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Rose
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Decided to try this tonight. I just got a bread machine for Christmas...and I've been baking bread all day! Since this is the first day I've had available to sit around the house and bake...i've had so much fun! I also added 1/2 tsp of basil, 1/2 tsp of sugar, and a 1/2 a tsp of onion powder. This added a lot of extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Schertz, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Very simple and good. I did add basil to the dish and used fresh minced garlic. I also added 1/2 tsp of sugar per suggestions. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNCANDACE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Quick and easy! My family loved this pizza sauce. I will never buy pizza sauce again. Didn't change any ingrediants. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This recipe was better after I made some additions. I added two pinches of red pepper flakes, decreased the oregano to 1 tsp and added 1 tsp Italian seasoning. I also added 2 cloves of fresh garlic. We ate the whole pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States