Easy OREO Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chriistina
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
crowd pleaser. everyone always begs for these but i recommend the following: 1. don't use double stuf oreos (they fall apart, it's messy, just don't try it) 2. you can subsitute almond bark for the outer coating, it's delicious. 3. the chocolate outer coating is really really hard to put on the oreo balls so first make sure that you CHILL the balls. then melt the chocolate on low heat or microwave and my method of dipping (so that the balls wouldn't fall apart and get the chocolate all dirty) was to take two spoons and kind of roll it around / spoon chocolate onto the ball. (that's because the toothpick into an oreo ball sometimes causes the entire thing to fall apart)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4831 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chriistina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I have been making these Oreo Truffles for years, and have used all different flavors of sandwich cookies...from Nutter Butter to Coffee & Cream Oreos. Each is delicious. My favorite batch is the one where I add crushed BUTTERFINGER to the Peanutbutter Oreo cookie mixture. I use about 2-3 regular sized candy bars to 1 pkg Oreos. There are so many options with this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1650 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Good recipe - easy to follow and ingredients are non-threatening/easy to find. A word to the wise. I'm not great with baking that requires complete attention. This does! The part where you cover you Oreo "meatball" in chocolate. A few hints: as you melt the chocolate, stir constantly and stop as soon as all of the stuff is melted - even a smidge before you think it's totally done. Use a slotted spoon and drop the cookie in and pour the chocolate over it. Move quickly or else the chocolate cools and it's like walking in quicksand. The toothpick thing didn't work for me and was discouraging in the beginning - despite chilling the stuff it didn't stay together and "muddied" the chocolate. The spoon method was much, much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1470 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAR77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Excellent! I followed the advice to crush cookies in the processor AND then add the cream cheese via the same way. You'll know it's well blended when the whole cookie mixture turns into a big blob...it won't be crumbly at all. I also chilled the dough for about 15 min before rolling. I then chilled the balls (in the freezer) for about 10 min while I melted the chocolate. I dipped 1/2 the batch at at time & then melted the remaining 1/2 of chocolate for the 2nd tray of balls. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
914 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Yankee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I got this recipe for "Oreo Balls" at my cooking club cookie exchange last year and have had HUGE success with them. I made them for my hubby's company picnic and they were so well received that I had people actually asking if they could pay me to make them for their families for the holidays! The recipe I have is the same as this except it calls for refrigerating the scooped balls for 1 hour before dippings, and also calls for dipping half of them in milk chocolate and half in white chocolate, then drizzling the opposite flavor over the top. (a slotted spoon works really well for both dipping and drizzling) An A+ recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
486 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle McCrillis
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
These are great - and a hit at the party! Really easy to make - I think the dipping worked well with using a teaspoon and fork - resting the truffle on the fork and using the spoon to pour the chocolate over. I think the trick is to try and handle the truffle as little as possible and trying to keep them at the tip of the fork so that you can slide the fork out without having to touch the truffle when putting it back on the wax paper. Chilling them for at least an hour helped (I think mine chilled for a little longer than an hour) and I kept them on wax paper on a metal cookie sheet to help keep them cool while I was dipping. My next ones I'll try with a different cookie - probably nutter butters since after telling guests about this version, I got requests to make them next time with the peanut butter cookies! I got many compliments so definitely making again :) They are rich, so you can't have too many of these at one time - but maybe that's a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle McCrillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
These guys are awsome, and great for x-mas gifts. To make the chocolate coating look really gourmet, melt 18 oz of semi-sweet chocolate chips or baking squares with 2 oz of paraffin wax(I use gulf wax found in canning section) and coat as specified in this recipe. I used a whole package of double stuff mint oreos and they were awesome. My husband went crazy over them. Next I will try nutter butter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: L'anse, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Oh,MY, absolutely yum-o-licious! and sooo easy to make, definately put in fridge for an hour before dipping. I was kind of slow on the dipping, and I could tell the difference in ease by the time i got to the end...next time I will keep half in fridge while i dip the other half. Yum, Yum, Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Love these!!! They were the hit of Christmas!!! All gone at the end of the day and everyone wanted the recipe! I drizzled white chocolate on the top instead of sprinkling the cookie crumbs on top. They looked fab!!! A HINT: I rolled the balls of cookie and put in the fridge - this firmed them up a bit, then I dipped them in the melted chocolate. (I also used a "double boiler" it works better on the chocolate IMHO). I am going to try peanut butter cookies and a dark chocolate or maybe even a mint cookie. The possiblilities are endless!!! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Gotta dip it in the white chocolate! Yeah, these were awesome, just don't eat too many or you won't be able to move!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States