Easy OREO Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
The Oreos fell apart when dipped in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I make buckeyes every year another cookie that needs dipped in chocolate. I typically use a shish kabob skew with a small ring on the end. Much easier to drain the excess chocolate off the cookie. It also leaves a decorative ring on the top of the cookie. ALSO a friend of mine suggested that I use a CROCK POT to met the chocolate - I did this year and it is SO easy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Five stars. 'nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alice =^..^=
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe & it really isn't difficult (like some people said in other reviews)it just takes a little patience & time & a few tweaks!I did use less cream cheese because I read so many reviews saying it was too moist so I used all of the cream cheese block except about 1/4 cup.I used semi-sweet chips & made my own doubleboiler by filling a large pot halfway with water & keeping it on low heat & placing a small pot inside (Be careful to NOT let water get in your chocolate-it will ruin it!) & melted the chips that way. It was pretty thick so I added about 1 tbsp of crisco to thin it out. Once you roll the balls of the oreo-cream cheese mixture, put them in the FREEZER for at least 20 minutes. Then use a toothpick to pick them up & do a quick dip in the chocolate & then tap the toothpick on the side of the pan about 30 times or until it stops drizzling. Then, to put the truffle on the wax paper carefully shake it off the toothpick (don't use you're fingers or a fork or else it will make it look ugly!) & it will evenutally fall off. You can fill the little toothpick hole by dipping the toothpick in the chocolate and dabbing it on the hole and it gives it a pretty swirly top on the truffle (see my pic)! Do as many as you can until the balls need to be chilled again. If they get too warm they will start to crumble when you are trying to dip them so keep them chilled. When you give them as a gift just tell people to keep them refridgerated. They are absolutely divine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice =^..^=

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I LOVE these normally but saw this recipe on here & decided to follow it exactly since it got so many good reviews. Semi-sweet chocolate? Really? So disgusting. I will definitely stick to milk chocolate or white chocolate next time. Semi-sweet is way too strong for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I have made this with both oreo and nutter butter cookies and it is fantastic! Like other users, I refrigerate the cookie mixture for an hour before coating in chocolate. I also do not put the cookie crumb topping. I found the easiest way to work with the dipping chocolate is to melt half of the chocolate in the microwave for about a minute and a half and to use a slotted spoon and regular spoon to coat. Using half of the chocolate at a time seems to work well. I did have a more crumbly truffle with the nutter butters, but I think I did not crush it enough as I used the plastic bag and rolling pin method. While it was not as creamy as my oreo, it still came out fantastic! A little time consuming to make, but totally worth it. The truffles are very rich, and I have been asked to make them for other parties, with someone even offering to pay me to make them for their kid's birthday party. Very good and easy recipe... Makes me look like I know what I'm doing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Benak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
these were fantastic and my guests went back for seconds and thirds def a keeper in my favorite recipe book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Very very yummy. I keep them in the freezer and bring out a few when we have guests. They are a great consistency with a crisp chocolate crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
These little things are the best. They look and taste so sophisticated, your friends won't believe when (if) you tell them it's only three ingredients. As some of the others have said, I refrigerate the balls before coating them in chocolate. If the chocolate is clumpy, warm just a tad longer until it is smooth when mixed. It will make for easier coating and prettier truffles. The one downside to this recipe is that it usually takes me a couple hours to get all the balls rolled and coated. Maybe I'm just slow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,903) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States