Easy OREO Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I have made this with both oreo and nutter butter cookies and it is fantastic! Like other users, I refrigerate the cookie mixture for an hour before coating in chocolate. I also do not put the cookie crumb topping. I found the easiest way to work with the dipping chocolate is to melt half of the chocolate in the microwave for about a minute and a half and to use a slotted spoon and regular spoon to coat. Using half of the chocolate at a time seems to work well. I did have a more crumbly truffle with the nutter butters, but I think I did not crush it enough as I used the plastic bag and rolling pin method. While it was not as creamy as my oreo, it still came out fantastic! A little time consuming to make, but totally worth it. The truffles are very rich, and I have been asked to make them for other parties, with someone even offering to pay me to make them for their kid's birthday party. Very good and easy recipe... Makes me look like I know what I'm doing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Benak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
these were fantastic and my guests went back for seconds and thirds def a keeper in my favorite recipe book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Very very yummy. I keep them in the freezer and bring out a few when we have guests. They are a great consistency with a crisp chocolate crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
These little things are the best. They look and taste so sophisticated, your friends won't believe when (if) you tell them it's only three ingredients. As some of the others have said, I refrigerate the balls before coating them in chocolate. If the chocolate is clumpy, warm just a tad longer until it is smooth when mixed. It will make for easier coating and prettier truffles. The one downside to this recipe is that it usually takes me a couple hours to get all the balls rolled and coated. Maybe I'm just slow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Everyone always begs me to make this again. Tip: A good way to crush Oreos is to put it into TWO (in case it breaks) plastic bags and slam it against the countertop. You can also lightly tap a hammer o it, just make sure you do that on a cutting board still in the two plastic bags. You can also make these into pops by putting toothpicks or popsicle sticks into them. If you do popsicle sticks, though, make them a bit bigger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Everyone always loves them. I have had some say they can be too sweet, but it's more personal preference. Some people like sweets, some prefer salty or savory. I switch the full flavor cream cheese for 1/3 fat or fat free. Sometimes I do a mix. Freeze them for a few hours before you coat them in chocolate. I usually grab a few at a time out of the freezer, dip, then grab some more. You don't want them to fall apart in the chocolate. Wax paper is your best friend while making these. After I dip them, I put them into the frig to completely cool. You can even make them like cake pops by dipping sticks into the chocolate and insert into the ball before refrigeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Awesome!!!! Quick, Easy and a hit at Thanksgiving! Fixing them again this week with some young ladies that do not cook! Hopefully this will inspire them to start cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
These were so easy to make and look awesome. Followed the recipe to the letter. they taste divine.:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Amazing! Easy for kids to help too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I love this recipe and it is a huge hit everywhere I take them! Instead of dipping them in chocolate, I pour the chocolate over them. It still covers well and has extra chocolate around the bottom. And my kids are able to help doing this way. I do chill for longer than an hour just to make sure they are good and hard and then chill again for over an hour. I do store them in the fridge instead of out just to make sure they stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,886) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States