Easy OREO Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe tastes good but is pretty awful to make. I spent a ton of time waiting for things to be the right temperature. First, softening the cream cheese. Then I froze the oreo/cream cheese balls with toothpicks per other reviews to make dipping it in the chocolate easier. They had to be REALLY frozen for the dipping to go well. If they were still soft at all, they would fall apart while i was doing the chocolate part. Then I stuck them in the freezer again after they were coated in chocolate for a few minutes. Again, tastes really good, but isn't as easy as the recipe seems, and with all the added wait time, it took way longer than 1.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Make these for holidays. Love that Oreo has come out with so many new flavors... yum and totally addicting... giving away all of them this year, trying to keep the holiday pounds off lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mari Werner
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Super easy and really yummy! Will definitely make them again (smaller next time lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Werner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I've been making all sorts of dessert recipes to sell at my mother's business as a way to make some money for college, and let me just say these were a hit! And sooo easy to make! I read some of the other reviews and blended the Oreos in my ninja and then, after they were crumbs, added in a block of cream cheese. I didn't use Philadelphia, just the Great Value kind, and it worked perfectly. I left my dough in the blender cup and stuck it in the fridge for about 30 minutes before I rolled it into balls. I think 10 minutes would have done the trick, but I was icing cookies so it had to wait. Once I rolled them into balls (I made 23 large balls) I stuck them into the freezer and started crushing the 9 Oreos in a ziplock bag. A spatula and a little anger did the trick of getting everything crumbly. Then I melted the chocolate, which took much longer to get nice and creamy than the instructions said. I used two spoons and put two balls into the bowl at the same time. Rolled them around in the chocolate until they were covered and then dropped them on a parchment-lined baking sheet. My little helper sprinkled the crushed up Oreos on top while the chocolate was setting and then we popped them in the freezer overnight. Just tried one this morning and they are DELICIOUS. So rich. They are probably a heart attack in your mouth but 2 hours later I'm sold out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivyliv1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
UGH. Never again. It's not worth the trouble and mess it makes in the kitchen for a couple dozen fairly mediocre tasting truffles. Dipping the truffles in chocolate was incredibly tedious and annoying because there's no way to get them from the bowl onto the tray without them either flipping over and exposing the unchocolated underside (was using a fork to lift them out of chocolate) or falling apart in the bowl, even after I refrigerated them for 15 minutes prior to dousing them with chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Farrier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This is a great recipe. I used Almond Bark chocolate flavor which is much cheaper and worked just fine if you want an alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Delicious but coating them was very time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
OMG....10 stars!! Phenomenally simple, easy and delicious! What else is there to say?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Delicious! But you'll need more cream cheese than noted here and actually whipped cream cheese is easier to work with. Also, the oreos didn't blend in the blender, we had to smash them in a sealed bag. Finally, recipe doesn't say how to dip in the chocolate -- use a spoon, I guess. I was burning my fingers trying to do it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
These are so rich, one or two is the perfect amount. If not making for a large crowd, half the recipe, and still there will be a ton! Loved It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,926) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States