Easy OREO Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The balls are good but I didn't give it a 5 star because I find it simply taste like an "Oreo"!! Nothing special. I used the exact ingredients stated in the recipe. I did the following and they were not messy at all and perfect in appearance. 1.) I used my food processor to chop the oreos then I added the Cream cheese to the food processor. I left it on chop until all of the oreos were completely mixed with the cream cheese. 2) Using a 1 tbsp measuring spoon, I scooped a heaping spoonful of mixture (packing it against the side of the bowl) then popped it out on the edge of the ball. I placed them on a tray covered in wax paper. I then stuck toothpicks in them to allow me to hold it while dipping. 3 )I put them in the freezer for about 45 minutes. 4) After freezing, melt chocolate in a dish deep enough to cover the ball when dipped. I used a measuring cup. Melt chocolate only until smooth (in attempt to keep the temperature as low as possible). 5) ONLY remove a few balls at a time. Use toothpick to dip into chocolate. Place on a tray. 6) Sprinkle crushed oreos on top while chocolate is still soft (bc they will not stick later). 7) Once balls have hardened, gently pull out toothpicks. Suggestion: Do not leave balls on counter too long. If you keep them i the refrigerator, they will hold and remain hard enough to eat without messy fingers!!! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
It coming out okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lacy Kyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I'm sure these are delicious. People who make Christmas candy and cookies around here make them so they aren't so unusual. A tip I found somewhere, was to take a plastic fork and break the two middle tines out and use it for dipping. Works well. Also my dough seemed very sticky after mixing so my recipe suggested adding powdered sugar, a tablespoon at a time. Be careful not to add too much as it will harden in refrigerator. Then suppose to refrigerate for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Just made my first “test batch” in preparation for the holidays and brought some to work to share. They were a huge hit! I made half with milk chocolate and half with white chocolate. I used several tips found in other reviewers’ comments – I chilled the dough in the fridge for about 30 minutes before making the balls. Then I froze the balls on 2 separate baking sheets for an hour before dipping in the chocolate, and took one sheet out at a time for dipping. I added vegetable oil to the chocolate and had no problem with the chocolate getting too thick and the frozen balls didn’t fall apart in the chocolate. I tried a couple of methods for dipping – the toothpick method worked well for coating, but I messed up the top of the balls trying to get the toothpick out. When I tried to fill the hole and with chocolate it just made the tops messy looking. The fork and spoon method worked best for me. I am already thinking of varieties for Christmas – mint Oreos with Andes chocolate chip morsel coating, crushed peppermint on top, red/green sprinkles, etc. Easy and excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe tastes good but is pretty awful to make. I spent a ton of time waiting for things to be the right temperature. First, softening the cream cheese. Then I froze the oreo/cream cheese balls with toothpicks per other reviews to make dipping it in the chocolate easier. They had to be REALLY frozen for the dipping to go well. If they were still soft at all, they would fall apart while i was doing the chocolate part. Then I stuck them in the freezer again after they were coated in chocolate for a few minutes. Again, tastes really good, but isn't as easy as the recipe seems, and with all the added wait time, it took way longer than 1.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Make these for holidays. Love that Oreo has come out with so many new flavors... yum and totally addicting... giving away all of them this year, trying to keep the holiday pounds off lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mari Werner
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Super easy and really yummy! Will definitely make them again (smaller next time lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Werner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I've been making all sorts of dessert recipes to sell at my mother's business as a way to make some money for college, and let me just say these were a hit! And sooo easy to make! I read some of the other reviews and blended the Oreos in my ninja and then, after they were crumbs, added in a block of cream cheese. I didn't use Philadelphia, just the Great Value kind, and it worked perfectly. I left my dough in the blender cup and stuck it in the fridge for about 30 minutes before I rolled it into balls. I think 10 minutes would have done the trick, but I was icing cookies so it had to wait. Once I rolled them into balls (I made 23 large balls) I stuck them into the freezer and started crushing the 9 Oreos in a ziplock bag. A spatula and a little anger did the trick of getting everything crumbly. Then I melted the chocolate, which took much longer to get nice and creamy than the instructions said. I used two spoons and put two balls into the bowl at the same time. Rolled them around in the chocolate until they were covered and then dropped them on a parchment-lined baking sheet. My little helper sprinkled the crushed up Oreos on top while the chocolate was setting and then we popped them in the freezer overnight. Just tried one this morning and they are DELICIOUS. So rich. They are probably a heart attack in your mouth but 2 hours later I'm sold out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivyliv1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
UGH. Never again. It's not worth the trouble and mess it makes in the kitchen for a couple dozen fairly mediocre tasting truffles. Dipping the truffles in chocolate was incredibly tedious and annoying because there's no way to get them from the bowl onto the tray without them either flipping over and exposing the unchocolated underside (was using a fork to lift them out of chocolate) or falling apart in the bowl, even after I refrigerated them for 15 minutes prior to dousing them with chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Farrier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This is a great recipe. But here's a tip. The Baker's semi-sweet chocolate it calls for is $1.98 for 4 oz. at Walmart. Which will cost you about $8 for what is needed for this recipe. I used Almond Bark chocolate flavor which is much cheaper and worked just fine if you want an alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,900) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States