Easy Garam Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
LOVED this for convenience and cheapness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Works very well! I just found bottles of (expensive) Garam Masala at a local store... I can't tell the difference. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 767

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I had a curry recipe that called for garam masala. I searched the grocery store endlessly (including bulk spices and specialty areas) with no luck. I was so happy to find this "quick fix" on Allrecipes. I thought this was the perfect blend of seasonings- the curry tasted delicious and authentic. I ground my own coriander because I only had whole on hand. Otherwise, left everything the same. Thanks for the recipe- I will use this from now on any time I need garam masala!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Soooooo good! Seems very close to what I get from our local Indian restaurant. I assume "ground pepper" means black peppercorns and not red pepper flakes or something else. (?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
While this is indeed a good substitute I must say something. Garam Masala is Indian and in no way Moroccan. I lived in Morocco and no spice blends are used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hajar Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA
Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Why purchase garam masala from a grocery store if you already have the spices on hand? I use this blend in many Indian dishes, and I feel like it makes my cooking even more authentic and "from scratch."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Thank you for saving so many dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
pretty good! had enough for several recipes, which is a great thing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedShannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
great recipe - i was in a pinch and it worked awesome! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STWALSH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica Miller
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was perfect for the bean curry I made from melskitchencafe. Thanks for sharing this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States