Easy Garam Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Worked great since I can't get this locally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
What a wonderful way to mix up some garam masala, when it is needed for a recipe. From what I know of the taste and smell this was pretty darn close. I only needed enough for a recipe, so I just mixed a little up. I did an equal amount of all of the ingredients. Only change I made was leaving out the cardomon, because it is expensive. Nutmeg is similar, so a little extra of that can be added. I also subbed allspice for the cloves, because they are similar, but cloves remind me too much of Christmas. This mix is fool proof and worked great for what I needed it for. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
very good! And easy if you can't get to a specialty market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I could not find Garam Masala at the store to make an Indian Butter Chicken recipe I wanted to make. I used this.. not sure if it is good or not as I have never tasted Garam Masala before but will say it saved my recipe to be able to make my own. Be aware taht Cardamom is VERY expensive for a spice... I paid $10 for a small bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I didn't have any garam masala on hand for a recipe yesterday, and this was a great find! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I couldn't find this at any grocery store in my area...THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Looking for an alternative to store bought curry powder when making Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans from this sight. Though we were missing coriander and nutmeg, this was still wonderful...., HOWEVER, MY HUSBAND'S PREFERENCE WOULD BE TO REDUCE THE CUMIN A BIT..., HE LOVES IT TO BE STRONG IN TEX MEX, BUT NOT SO MUCH HERE (sorry, that's a note to self..., I personally loved it as is). We look forward to trying this with the proper ingredients next time. My husband might even enjoy the cumin with the appropriate changes. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Thank you! My husband keeps urging me go try cooking Indian food at home, but I didn't want to have to buy a whole bottle of spice I might or might not end up liking. All other recipes were for toasting and grinding whole spices, which I rarely have on hand. This recipe hit the spot perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin J. Sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Awesome in a pinch - but no substitution for roasting whole spices and grinding them yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homedale, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States