Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by CARMENEMARTINEZ
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
The bread came out delicious but I had to replace the vegetable oil with 1cup of unsweetened apple sauce. The next time, I will use 2Cups of sugar as opposed to 3 as it came out a little sweeter than I would have liked and I dont have much of a sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENEMARTINEZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This recipe is awesome. I used one cup whole wheat flour, added in dark chocolate chips and nuts on top. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I've made this for a couple years now and it's always amazing. Made it this time for my kids lunch, but I am going to throw some pecans in next time I make it. Also very good with cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Absolutely fantastic and made some variations that were previously suggested in the quality reviews sent in by tried-and-true cooks/chefs :) I added cranberries (1 cup of diced fresh) and 2/3rds cup orange juice. Superb! I use applesauce and unrefined coconut oil! Fresh nutmeg, cinnamon, and ginger from the health food store. WHAT A DIFFERENCE. With the number of ratings and the high regard for this recipe and my absolute passion for anything PUMPKIN I was compelled to try it out. My children raved so much at school about my bread that I had teachers and other staff asking me to make it and they'd pay for the ingredients! So I did. Now I got rassled into doing a home ec. demonstration and presentation.......lol. All is good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Howard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
15 oz. pumpkin equals 1 3/4 cup (if you are using fresh pumpkin). Sub half the flour with whole wheat flour. Added lots raisins, covered tops of batter with toasted walnut pieces just before baking, added extra powdered ginger and a bunch of black pepper along with rest of seasonings. Outstanding! Oh, recipe doubled easily and I got 4 loaves. Had a nice rise and color. Impressive! By the way, one of the times I made this recipe and didn't have canned pumpkin and !put canned carrots and canned sweet potatoes (yams) in the blender and used that and no one could tell the di!fference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
FANTASTIC!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Waaah! I can't believe I didn't like it! I always love what my allrecipes peeps love. But I didn't this time. I thought the texture was too flat. This "spicy" bread could have had three times the spice and possibly still not be enough for me. I wanted waaaaay more pumpkin flavor. I felt like I was eating a vanilla spice muffin. Maybe I'll try it after it has rested a day and I'll like it more and be able to edit my comment. But if not, next time I'll do half whole wheat, sub buttermilk for water, double the salt, reduce the sugar by 1/3, double the pumpkin, halve the oil, and triple the spices! Heck, let's throw some nuts in, too, while we're changing everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Incredible! Made "as-is" and also with other reviewer suggestions (double spices, half brown sugar to white sugar, 1/2 cup melted butter & 1/2 cup applesauce instead of oil, apple juice instead of water, added walnuts and golden raisins). Both ways were moist and full of flavor. Made 2 loaves and 12 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
So moist and delicious. Perfect recipe just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
So yummy and great as cupcakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,003) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States