Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I did add some dried cranberries to the mix. It was hard not to eat the whole thing at first seating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOOKIE
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I made this GLUTEN FREE! . I adjusted this to make 1 full size loaf. So this is what I did: I used Bobs Red Mill AP Flour, 1/3 C Coconut oil in place of veg oil, 2 eggs, I used the entire 15 oz can of Libby's Pumpkin, I used the called for amount of water..less 1 TBL which I replaced with vanilla ext. I substituted 1 C Swerve in place of sugar. I also used 1 teaspoon of Bobs Red Mill baking soda, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon & nutmeg and 1/2 teaspoon of Kosher salt. I didn't have ground cloves or ginger so I had to leave them out. I added 1/2 C of Enjoy Life Mega Chunk semi sweet choc chips & 1/4 C of chopped walnuts. I baked it for 60 minutes. I left it in the loaf pan on a wire rack until completely cool. IT WAS AWESOME!!! This is a keeper for sure. I bake once a week. Always a GF type of bread. Next week I'm going to make this again and I think I'm going to leave out the Mega Chunks and add the ground cloves and ginger. I'm looking forward to it. My husband absolutely loved this too. Thanks for sharing Laurie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Couldn't decide if I should give 4 stars or 5 (I rarely give out 5) but this recipe was really great. I brought it to work and was surprised how much everyone loved it. Coworkers demolished it and raved about it much to my surprise. I used about 1/2 Cup LESS sugar (it was perfectly sweet. Could've even used less sugar), 1/2 Cup less flour, 14 ounces of pumpkin instead of 15, and I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil because I didn't have any veggie oil and wasn't up for a grocery store run. I thought that would ruin it but it didn't! (as pumpkin purée cans are sold as 15 oz instead of 16oz, you always end up with one 14 oz can of pumpkin purée if you make anything requiring pumpkin. This is annoying so, instead of opening another can, I just used that 14oz for this recipe. Absolutely not a problem). I didn't have small loaf pans so I used a muffin pan and larger loaf pans filled only partially. Really slapped this together with whatever I had (or didn't have) at my fingertips and was genuinely surprised at how great it came out anyway. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very good. I halved the recipe and got 11 muffins out of it. I did use a little less sugar and added some more spices to taste (after dipping my finger in the batter). I also added a glaze which I think was essential. I served these to guests and they all absolutely loved them. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Best pumpkin bread ever!! I made one change: I replaced 1/2 cup of oil for 1/2 plain Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This is my go to recipe now for pumpkin bread. Very few recipes earn five stars but this is one of the few. I have made this countless times and tweaked the recipe with various alterations but each time it's still a five star bakery product. The only real addition I make routinely is adding a tsp of pumpkin pie spice in addition to the other spices in the recipe. We love spiced pumpkin and this is a personal preference. The other addition is to add one cup pecans because again we love nuts. I've played with reducing the oil half cup applesauce and half cup oil which is fine initially but I think they become dry quickly. So now I now leave it full oil and just limit my consumption. The other thing is I keep these in the freezer baked in a USP Pans Mini Loaf Pan with 8 Wells. Each well holds 4 oz batter which makes a perfect individual size mini loaf to throw in lunches. A great recipe that turns out fabulous no matter how you tweak it (if you do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Bread turned out tasting fine, but I had to make some adjustments to the oven temp/time. At 40 minutes at 350 F, the outside of the bread was beginning to burn, and the inside was still liquid. Lowered to 300 and cooked 15 minutes longer and it turned out okay. I would add the notation to let the bread cool in the pan before removing it. I unfortunately tested out this theory with the first of the three loaves (I only had 2 bread pans and needed to switch one out to make the third, and the loaf promptly collapsed into a gooey mess.) Still edible, just not pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Morton

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This is better than Starbuck's pumpkin loaf. I used half brown and half white sugar, because I didn't have enough of the white. I also added chopped walnuts, which is a personal preference. This recipe deserves 10 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Love this recipe,only thing I do differently is 1 cup brown sugar and 2 cups white.I also use 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
5 stars with the changes. I used half butter & oil - NOT vegetable but canola. 1 c. brown sugar + 1 3/4 white. Added a pinch of Pumpkin Pie Spice...next time I will use 1 1/2 tsp. to give it a bit more flavor. FOR SURE make the glaze with p. sugar - milk - butter - cinn. - allspice & vanilla. It really is the Topping on the Bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 6,012) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States