Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This turned out fantastic! I found a can of pumpkin in the cupboard and searched for a recipe, and found this one. It seemed like too much sugar to me, though, and after reading a lot of the reviews I made a few changes: I used one cup white sugar and one cup dark brown sugar; swapped a half cup melted butter for a half cup of the oil; and added chopped walnuts. I froze the second loaf but we went through the first in eighteen hours! Snack after dinner and breakfast French Toast (thank you hubbie!). Versatile and delicious. Will be thawing the second loaf next weekend. THANK YOU, LAURIE, WHOEVER YOU ARE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This bread is delicious! I made two batches, the first batch was quite sweet so I reduced the sugar to 2 1/2 cups on the second batch. I also cut the oil to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 cup applesauce as some reviews suggested and added a cup of chopped walnuts. I thought it was perfect and all six loaves disappeared very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Good receipe, bake time is too much for 3 loaves as indicated. I hade to cut bake time and temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I am from singapore a freaking humid and hot country perhaps that is the reason my family and i find this bread way too sweet!! 1.5 cups of sugar and 3/4 tsp of respective spices will do the trick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Try adding a teaspoon of vanilla extract, pecans and walnuts. Wonderful addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This one deserves like 50 gazillion stars. I've been making it for years, but just realized I've never reviewed it. Shame on me, but if you're not already convinced to make it from all the other 5 star reviews, then I'm not sure what will convince you! This is moist, perfectly spiced, and just plain YUM. A few weeks ago I tried substituting the oil for apple sauce as suggested by a couple reviewers. Mehhhh, not so good. I mean, it wasn't horrible, but it had a weird rubbery texture. JUST STICK TO THE RECIPE. Trust me. I made another batch last night to take to a bake sale fundraiser we're having at work tomorrow. I made 1 loaf in a pretty decorative fall pan, then once it was cool, I drizzled a glaze over top that was suggested by reviewers: 1 cup of confectioners sugar, 2 Tbs melted butter, 5 tsp of milk, 1/8 tsp vanilla extract, 1/8 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp allspice. With the rest of the batter I made 12 muffins, and also drizzled those with glaze. (Normally when I make this recipe, I make 2 loaves instead of 3) WINNER WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
So good, and easy to make. Followed directions, and turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I have made this bread a number of times and love it. I decided to cut the oil by half and add 8oz. of sour cream as a substitute. It is just as moist, if not more and the flavor is wonderful~ I kept all other ingredients as is. I made two large loaves instead of 3 (simply because I only had two pans) and just cooked it a bit longer. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
So moist and delicious, great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Smelled awful while baking, tasted worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 6,118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States