Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Good flavor and excellent texture! I found it overly sweet with 3 cups of sugar (more like a dessert cake), but just perfect with 2 1/4. The perfect recipe--very easy and makes enough to save some to enjoy and have plenty to give away. BTW, works out perfectly using whole wheat pastry flour, too--made it that way once. I also felt like it needed vanilla and/or a dash of maple flavoring. Just follow the basic recipe then spice as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This was good but only made 2 loaves, not 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I have had this recipe saved for YEARS and finally made it this fall. It is just as amazing as everyone else (over 6100 right now) has claimed. I like to make this in a big 13x9 pan and just cut into squares for the family. I have loaves of it in the freezer now for giving. Once I made it, my husband was hooked and I have kept making it all season long. I'm sure I'll be making it in the middle of summer too, it's that good. I don't dare change a thing, this recipe is FLAWLESS. Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I've made this recipe many times this fall and just finished making it for the second time today. The bread freezes well, and to replace the oil I use plain Greek yogurt and add walnuts, raisins and mini chocolate chips, depending on what I have available. Overall this a great recipe--thanks for sharing~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Excellent recipe, my family loves it. I have made it with fresh pumpkin, fresh cooked & mashed sweet potatoes, and fresh cooked & mashed butternut squash. Puree in the blender. Just be mindful of water content when using fresh. You may need to strain it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro Corbin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I've been making this recipe for over a year now. My 5 year old son is a picky eater and this is his favorite thing for me to bake for him. Excellent recipe, great balance of spices, I wouldn't change a thing. One tip: my oven always needs more time to bake, so i lower the temp by 15 degrees for the last 10 minutes and any additional time. Prevents the bread from over browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Love Love love this recipe. So delicious and yummy. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Howlett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a good while now. If the spices are doubled or tripled, it also works as a GlutenFree recipe for a number of GF flours. I tend to replace a couple of the eggs with ground flax and no one is the wiser. I've also used banana for the oil before and just greased my pans extra well. You can tweak this so many ways and it still turns out great! Base recipes like this are timeless. Thank you for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rbabyrolle
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Yummy. I made it as is and I think it tastes great. It is sweet so I think you could leave out a little sugar maybe a 1/2-1 cup less than directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I love this recipe. Quick and easy. I didn't add any water and upped the home grown pumpkin puree to 4 cups. I also cut the sugar back to two cups and doubled the spices. I'm giving them out as Christmas presents because they are so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States