Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by bmconl
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Very good pumpkin bread. I made a few alterations and also made a glaze (everything is yummiest with icing!). I used a 1/2 c brown sugar and added pumpkin pie spice in lieu of clove and ginger. I also used butter instead of vegetable oil. This recipe was the perfect amount for my bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmconl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I have made this recipe into large loaves, small loaves, muffins and mini muffins. It is so good!! Occasionally I add chopped apples to them, mmmmm..... I do substitute 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Made it this morning. Added raisins plumped in spiced rum, and vanilla. I put cinnamon sugar on top before I baked them, made a shiny, crunchy top. Definitely use OJ in recipe, as this recipe has baking soda, and needs an acid to react. I added half as much sugar, no oil, I used applesauce. Seemed a bit runny, but turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Do not grate nutmeg on microplane- leaves a gritty texture in bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This was delicious! I added chocolate chips and made muffins from the mix. My family was nearly fighting over them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElyseTwichell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Very moist and didn't fall apart. I slice it thin and put cream cheese on it. It is great for a quick breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardenartist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I followed someone else's instructions and used 2 regular bread pans, 9x5, and baked for 65 minutes. The results might have been yummy, but I'll never know because I made it even better. I melted 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 stick butter, 2 tablespoons of water and 2 tablespoons of pumpkin liquor and then poured it over each loaf. It was sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Barbara
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This is the best pumpkin bread we have ever had. I made it as listed but cooked it in two large pans, at 325 till done, about an hour and 20 minutes. By cooking it slow, it didn't the overly brown sides but was the same color and moist all the way to the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 5,919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States