Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Oh! My!! Goodness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is like my favorite pumpkin treat. I'm in LOVE! I do add extra cinnamon and nutmeg. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Howell Menefee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My first time making any kind of bread that didn't come out of a box. The pumpkin bread is absolutely delicious! If I can do it anyone can - it's so easy. Thanks so much for sharing - happy holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davisduo88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Have been making this bread since the early 1970's when a friend made it. She added 1 cup chopped walnuts and 1 cup chopped dates, but I always use the entire package of chopped dates, maybe 1 1/2 cups. Over the years have made it healthier by subbing 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour with 2 c all purpose white flour, 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup Splenda, and 1 cup Splenda sugar blend(which is 1/2 sugar & 1/2 Splenda). It's always moist and always a big hit. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
SO GOOD!I made this recipe on a whim because I had so many extra cans of pumpkin. My family loved it so much that they are requesting that I bring it to Christmas dinner! I made it just like the recipe says, with the exception that I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the individual spices. And I added chocolate chips. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
So, I have to give it 4 stars only because I modified it a bit, so I don't know how it would be exactly as written. The bread turned out delicious, some of the best pumpkin bread I've had!!!! Here's what I changed: decreased oil to about 2/3 cup, added 3-4 tbsp milk, reduced white sugar to 1.5 cups, added about 1 cup brown sugar, and added 1/2 cup dried cranberries and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. It did take longer to bake, and I'm not sure why. I think it was a good hour and ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
The BEST pumpkin bread I have had in years..and I have had a lot of pumpkin bread. Glad I lost my old recipe so I was forced to try a new one. I did add a cup of plump raisin ( soaked in water..Next time may try some rum to experiment.) and a cup of chopped walnuts. Very moist and just the right amount of spices. Great for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Moist, great flavor and easy, can't get better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Wow. Made this as the recipe stated. Just topped with a glaze whole cooling oh 1 cup confectioners sugar, 5tsp milk and 2 tbs butter. It also took me a little longer to bake- 1 hr and 10 min. And it fit (2) 9x4 pans perfectly. It's delicious and addicting. Thank goodness it makes two loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I prefer this over pumpkin pie. My boyfriend loves it and I'm about to make some for my fellow co-workers. Of course I've added my own twist to it. For the most part I follow the ingredients. I substituted the vegetable oil for 3/4 cup of coconut oil, it keeps everything so moist even days after. I add 2 cups of white sugar and 1 cup of dark brown sugar, 1tblsp of cinnamon, 1.5 tsp of nutmeg and use baking powder instead of baking soda. I usually make 12 muffins and 1 bigger bread loaf. Muffins cook for 25 to 30 minutes and the loaf for 40 to 45 minutes. These are so good I'm thinking about adding them to my breakfast routine every other week. Kudos to the mad genius who thought of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 6,176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States