Dirty Martini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
a few pointers from a seasoned bartender: most bottled olive brine has a strange artificial taste. i recommend using straight olive juice from a jar of quality olives. the difference between a top shelf vodka or gin and a low end is enormous when drinking a martini. save the cheap stuff for mixed drinks! start with a chilled martini glass, pepto it with vermouth, pour out excess, and mix your liquor and olive juice in a cocktail shaker of ice until ice forms on the outside. strain, garnish, and enjoy. the perfect martin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
574 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caraleigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This is a big honkin' martini. I am a Gray Goose fan, but it's pricey. I have found a good substitute with a Russian vodka - White Gold - at a lower price. Don't drink this on an empty stomach or you'll be thrown for a loop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
YUM! Olive lovers will adore this, others may not. I use 3 Spanish Queen Olives. When you order this in a bar, be sure to specify level of dirtiness you prefer: Very dirty, dirty, slightly dirty. Some bartenders have a heavy hand with the brine and it can ruin what should be a fantstic cocktail! Salud!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I made one of these and that was all I needed. This is not for me. The flavor was a little strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Try this recipe with garlic stuffed olives! It is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I love a substabtial martini and 6 ounces is substantial. The best way I have found to finish one off is to use jalapeno stuffed olives. Nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I usually drink Vodka martinis but Tanqueray was on sale today and it makes a killer dirty martini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I adore dirty martinis, but even my olive hating friends love these. They just leave the olives for me to eat! A great variation for heat fans is the Hot and Dirty - add pickled jalapeno juice as well as olive juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASTET

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
I am a bartender in Los Angeles. Olive brine (juice) from the jar is not the best way to flavor your dirty martini. If you want the best you should use "Dirty Sue." Dirty Sue is twice filtered olive brine made from premium olives. If you add this to Hank's recipe, you will have a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
979 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Husband loves these dirty martinis, the "dirtier" the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kahlúa Espresso Martini

See how to make an espresso martini with vodka and Kahlua.

Vodka Martini Cocktail

See how to make a classic vodka martini.

Cranberry Martini

See how to make a festive, colorful vodka cocktail for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States