Dirty Martini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I LOVE vodka martinis the only cocktail I drink actually. Just an added tip. NEVER SHAKE A MARTINI if you shake a martini with ice your left with a watered down drink! Always Stir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
The tip about using olive juice instead of brine is VERY important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldielocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I'm obsessed with spicy stuff. Try using stoli jalapeño vodka and olives stuffed with garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
One of my favorite cocktails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by Cookin Dude
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Well I'm not a bartender like many of the reviewers are but I do drink my share of....well, everything!! I like a great dirty martini from time to time and almost always get them when I'm out at a restaurant. I decided to try one at home but checked online first to see what people had to say about making them. After several searches, this recipe seemed to be the best to me. I made it as stated in the recipe. After reading the reviews I opted to use the brine from my favorite olives since I'm addicted to them versus using the brine from quality olive jars. I use Goya brand olives with minced anchovies in a can from my local store. I like the saltiness and there is NO fishiness with these olives. The brine makes a fantastic mixer for this recipe. It may be because I'm now on round two but this is probably the smoothest dirty martini i've ever had. It is very important to use a high quality vodka and vermouth!! I do use a piece of cooked bacon as my swizzle stick (see photos) to increase the interest in this drink but I'm not sure that's necessary. The next time I make this, which will probably be over the weekend, I will be sure to get blue cheese stuffed olives with the bacon swizzle stick and the Goya brine. Happy sipping!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Dude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Whoa, 6 ounces of vodka. Where do you find a glass that big? I have what I thought was a big martini glass, and it only holds 4 ounces. I love vodka martinis and have made them with many kinds of vodka and many kinds of olives. If you want a simple, but potent, vodka martini, stick a bottle of Belvedere in the freezer for at least a couple of hours, or if you're on a budget use Stolichnaya (Stoli) - yes, I know Stoli isn't cheap. When you put the vodka in the freezer, stick a couple of martini glasses in there as well. To make the martini, place a few Manzanilla olives on a skewer in the frozen glass, add about a 1/2 teaspoon of olive juice, and fill the glass with the vodka from the freezer. It goes without saying, you need to like vodka to enjoy this drink, but if you do - this is one sweet way to drink it. BTW, since there is no ice to melt and water down the vodka, a couple of these goes along way. Before everyone says, why not just fill a glass with vodka and drink it? Well, that would make it a vodka shot, which is also good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I like that this recipe called for 4 stuffed olives. I usually go with 3 but 4 is def better. I tend to like my vodka straight with just a splash of 3BAR olive juice. Right now I can only find it on amazon but I keep trying to convince the local pub to carry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
The ONLY way that I can truly enjoy this classic is with Ketel One vodka, no vermouth, blue-cheese stuffed olives and extra olive juice. I like mine FILTHY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This definitely needs to be made with a good vodka. I tried it with Gordon's. It was like rubbing alcohol. I'm sure that with a Stoli's or Grey Goose, this would be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
YUMMY! I get the idea of coating the martini glass with vermouth - fantastic! could never get the proportion right. I now understand why bar supply stores sell those spritz bottles for the vermouth - you have to get it JUST right. And - btw - 6 ozs. vodka? LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kahlúa Espresso Martini

See how to make an espresso martini with vodka and Kahlua.

Vodka Martini Cocktail

See how to make a classic vodka martini.

Pumpkin Spice Martini

Festive holiday cocktail flavored with pumpkin liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States