Dinner in a Pumpkin I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
We liked the idea so tried it did omit the green beans like suggested in prior reviews it was a different taste not bad as we were eating the family and I made some adds to the taste by adding butter and brown sugar and a bit more salt. thinking if you were to coat the inside of the pumpkin with butter then brown sugar it before you layered the cabbage and meat/rice inside it would have the same affect as adding it post cooking and maybe a bit more liquid your preference tho thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I gave this 4 stars because I too tweaked the recipe. I followed suggestions and did not use as much tomato juice. I used one can of Tomato Sauce, 1 Can Diced Tomatoes w/ Basil & Oregano, and a splash of tomato juice to make sure there was enough moisture. I didn't have Italian seasoning, so I threw in a 1/2 teaspoon of Oregano, Thyme, Basil & Garlic Powder. I also used 2 4lb pumpkins, and it took about 2 1/2 hours to make. Everyone loved to recipe, and we will definitely make this a Halloween Tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
The first time I tried to make this I ended up with the wrong kind of cooking pumpkin, and I wouldn't have been able to get into its hard shell without boiling it for an hour. So I went pumpkinless, and made a casserole with the cabbage and filling instead, and my family went completely bonkers for it! I modified the recipe a little - used ground turkey instead of beef, tripled the garlic (we love love love garlic), and used Trader Joe's low-fat creamy tomato soup instead of tomato juice because I had it on-hand; also, as recommended by other reviewers, I omitted the green beans and cooked the rice half-way before adding to the other ingredients. I also probably used 4 or 5 cups of coarsely chopped cabbage. Layered in a casserole, cabbage on bottom, meat/soup/rice mixture on top, with a few cabbage sprinkles on top, this was really fabulous, and has been added to my regular meal planning rotation. I did cook the filling in a pumpkin once and it was great, but we were all a little disappointed in having a change to the dish we liked so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Enjoyed this meal very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
LOVE THIS!! I have been making this for my Halloween dinner for over five years! The only thing is that you need minute rice other wise you can cook that pumpkin till it turns black and you still will get hard rice! I love that when you scoop it out, you get all that pumpkin!! Marvelous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
one small problem but This recipe was really really good, the only problem was that the rice took longer to cook than the pumpkin, maybe you should soften the rice halfway so that it can completely cook in the pumpkin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was good! I was curious to read other reviews since my experience was very different - my rice cooked no problem, and far from sagging and dripping my pumpkin's shell became rock-hard - so much so that I had a really hard time cutting into it in order to serve the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this for Halloween dinner last night. It turned out pretty good. It needs more spice than what it calls for. We ended up adding salt to our own bowls. I will be making it again next year for Halloween, with some tweaking of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovegoodfood2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittani F.
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This dish was wonderful! The reason I gave it only 4 stars was because, I used some instant rice and some regular rice and the regular rice DID NOT cook. You must either use instant rice or precook your rice otherwise it wont be done. I cooked it for the full 3 hours. Also I used a carving pumpkin because all the pie pumpkins we very small and this makes ALOT! You should also use a very deep pan to cook this in bacause the pumpkin gets very soft and there is alot of juice. One sugesstion was to use 1 cup crushed tomato and 3 cups tomato sauce instead of the juice, which I did and I think it turned out better that it would have with the juice.I have to say though it is VERY YUMMY I will make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States