Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
With 2 female border collies & an "I will eat anything" female lab you hit the mark. Our 11 year old border collie was bouncing around acting like she was a puppy again and the very picky baby (4 year old border collie) was surely in dog heaven (I had to watch my fingers). And...the lab...well, she eats anything. Thanks so much for sharing. I personally couldn't handle the liver thing so I used a 2.5 oz. beef baby food (I don't remember that smelling so bad when my kids were small) with about 3 oz. of beef & vege baby food ( 1/2 of a 6oz. jar) to keep the cost down and many other reviewers suggested it. I also added 1/2 cup old fashioned oats and about 1 Tbsp. flax seed (I had it on hand and the oil is good for the dogs), spread it on parchment paper in a 9 x 13 metal pan and cooked for 15 minutes, cut it up with a pizza cutter (as suggested) and couldn't have asked for more. Our 4 legged girls think you're the best---loved, loved, loved it. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Pilot Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I just made these tonight using the eggs, 2 each 2.5 oz jars of beef baby food and whole grain brown rice flour (gluten free) instead of whole wheat and then used a pizza cutter to slice them in to bite size pieces (about the size of a scrabble piece), and my yorkie LOVED them! He was diagnosed as diabetic back in September and it has been a challenge finding him treats that he likes that don't cost a small fortune, and now I can make these for him. I also bought the jars of chicken baby food for a little variety. They are so easy to make and the consistency is perfect---kind of spongy.I also have a non-diabetic sheltie who also loves them. All of the ingredients are very healthy, so I would recommend these for anyone who has a dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My dogs love these treats! I ran the liver through my Ninja using the double blade. I had enough room to add the flour and egg to it and also added a small amount of garlic and blended it all together. I used a large Wilton sheet cake pan lined with parchment paper. It baked in 15 mins as stated and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Andrusiak Knight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: West Columbia, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
this is very similar to the recipe i have used for years, though i think mine is tastier due to the garlic: i use 1 lb. beef liver, 1 cup corn meal, 1-1/2 cup wheat (or any kind) flour and 1 tsp. garlic powder. also note, i had tiny dogs - chihuahuas and italian greyhound - so i cut into strips, put in baggies, a couple baggies for the fridge and the rest went into the freezer. these freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Our dogs love these and Daisy needed the motivation to eat at her injection times. I am not a liver lover. I wish I had an outside oven to keep the liver stench out of the house. I am going to try a different protein next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gberdan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Both dogs and all 3 cats went nuts for these treats! I made the recipie as stated, but tossed in a little parsley and garlic to try and counteract the vile raw liver smell. These do smell REALLY bad while baking, but the dogs sure love them... I use them as "pill pockets" to fool our smart dog into taking her twice-daily pill, which she now gobbles right down. I am going to give this recipie to my vet's office so they can hand it out to people who have pets with health issues. Great recipie Barb! My dogs (and cats) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfast, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Hi Barb! Thanks so much for this great and easy recipe. I loved it so much I added it to my dog blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I substituted liver with baby food - pumpkin, beef and potato. My dogs loved it! Easy enough to make, will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny_d

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I added two small containers of beef baby food to this recipe and a dash of honey and my dog liked these treats, however, I only rated them a 3 because they didn't last very long (make sure you refridgerate them) and they were a bit slimy in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great Recipe! However; whole wheat flour has gluten. Gluten can raise blood sugar. I used whole grain brown rice wheat flour. It's gluten free. My dog loves them just the same. Other gluten free flours: * Brown rice flour: whole grain, very nutritional, has more oil * Buckwheat flour: not wheat, whole grain, strong taste, has more oil * Sorghum flour: whole grain, very nutritional, good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States