Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My dogs love these treats! I ran the liver through my Ninja using the double blade. I had enough room to add the flour and egg to it and also added a small amount of garlic and blended it all together. I used a large Wilton sheet cake pan lined with parchment paper. It baked in 15 mins as stated and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: West Columbia, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
this is very similar to the recipe i have used for years, though i think mine is tastier due to the garlic: i use 1 lb. beef liver, 1 cup corn meal, 1-1/2 cup wheat (or any kind) flour and 1 tsp. garlic powder. also note, i had tiny dogs - chihuahuas and italian greyhound - so i cut into strips, put in baggies, a couple baggies for the fridge and the rest went into the freezer. these freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Our dogs love these and Daisy needed the motivation to eat at her injection times. I am not a liver lover. I wish I had an outside oven to keep the liver stench out of the house. I am going to try a different protein next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gberdan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Both dogs and all 3 cats went nuts for these treats! I made the recipie as stated, but tossed in a little parsley and garlic to try and counteract the vile raw liver smell. These do smell REALLY bad while baking, but the dogs sure love them... I use them as "pill pockets" to fool our smart dog into taking her twice-daily pill, which she now gobbles right down. I am going to give this recipie to my vet's office so they can hand it out to people who have pets with health issues. Great recipie Barb! My dogs (and cats) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfast, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Hi Barb! Thanks so much for this great and easy recipe. I loved it so much I added it to my dog blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I substituted liver with baby food - pumpkin, beef and potato. My dogs loved it! Easy enough to make, will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny_d

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I added two small containers of beef baby food to this recipe and a dash of honey and my dog liked these treats, however, I only rated them a 3 because they didn't last very long (make sure you refridgerate them) and they were a bit slimy in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great Recipe! However; whole wheat flour has gluten. Gluten can raise blood sugar. I used whole grain brown rice wheat flour. It's gluten free. My dog loves them just the same. Other gluten free flours: * Brown rice flour: whole grain, very nutritional, has more oil * Buckwheat flour: not wheat, whole grain, strong taste, has more oil * Sorghum flour: whole grain, very nutritional, good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
My dog LOVES these treats! I did "par boil" the liver for about a minute. Makes it much easier to work with. I still did have to gag a couple of times because of the smell, but it was worth it for my little doggie. I cut the treats in much smaller pieces for her as she is a small dog. These would make great treats to train puppies - just cut them into real small treats. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
My dog was just diagnosed with Diabetes. Food is her middle name-just saying the word outloud sends her into a frenzy. She absolutely LOVES Puperoni.......however, they have sugar; both regular as well as propylene glycol, so they have to go! I was hoping this recipe would solve the problem.......she liked them, but we shall see as time goes by. I followed others suggestion of baby food, using a 1-2.5oz jar of beef and I also used about 1 tsp of liquid smoke -----trying to mimic the smell of those Puperoni's. Like I said, she does like them, but unlike others, did not go crazy for them. Next time however, I will use a much smaller pan to spread the batter in......10x15 is way too large......they come out too thin. A ravioli/pastry cutter works well to cut them while still warm as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States