Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by aaatrouble
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Recipe was extremely easy and came out well. I didn't even cut up the liver, just slid it from the pkg into the food processor. We did add the eggs whole so the dogs could benefit from the added calcium and also added a little garlic powder. Spread out thick and baked for 20 min. Dogs LOVE them. Put a piece in front of one of our foster puppies who was sleeping and it was amazing; he started biting before he even woke up. Smell was not nearly as bad as I had expected after reading some of the other reviews, and cleanup was a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Love it! I use baby food instead of the liver and my dog loves it. Also works perfectly to hide his pills for cushings because I can put the pills into the treat because of the spongy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was a great recipe to go off of. I didn't do it quiet like this. I used less ingredients. I used beef baby food two 2.5oz jars, 7oz of pure pumpkin, and i used 4oz of water to make up for the eggs. I would love to have used them but dogs prone to pankcretitis i've read its not good for their sensitive tummies, and 1/4 whole wheat flower for my 1st go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
And I got cut off.... I just made them this morning and Misty has had a beef and turkey so far and loved them both! Thanks so much for this recipe! I already know I'll be using it ALOT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This recipe is such an awesome one. I did go with Gluten Free Whole Wheat Flour because it has no sugar period in it at all. There is not a dog I have given this to, that will not eat it. I have 6 dogs and they all stand around me in the kitchen when I am baking them, and trust me I am on my 15th batch already. Even my friends have me make them for their dogs, because their dogs will not eat store bought treats. Even the pickiest of doggies will eat these...but watch out for your hand...My vet has even approved them for my dog that is a diabetic...she was totally impressed! So just to let you know these have been "BUDDY" aprroved(that is my doggie's name) Healthy for them to all eat and everyone is happy! Tys so much for an awesome recipe. I have not tried it with other meats, but am thinking of using Chicken next...Again LOVE IT! and so do my Doggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I have made these now for my diabetic chihuahua and my Lab. They love them.I use the rye flour and the baby food. (watch the sugar and sodium content in baby food) So easy and quick. also have made extra for neighbors and friends, family dogs. THEY all love them. Thanks so much for this to be able to give my little guy treats that won't harm him and can still have with his diabetes, in moderation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Super easy to make and our dog loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Thought I would provide a 2012 review. My lab was recently diagnosed with diabetes and I was looking for some treats she could have. She LOVES treats! These are the BEST! She LOVES them. Easy to make. I make multiple batches. 1 recipes lasts me a week for 2 labs. I freeze the others and just pull them out when I need them. Best to make multiple batches since clean up can be a bit messy. Thanks to the original poster. My labs thank you many times each day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
You can even make this more diabetic friendly by using Rye flour instead of wheat flour. Rye flour has much less gluten and is much slower in converting into sugar in the body. Rye flour is also more flavorful and dogs love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I have two Shih Tzus. We just found out my little girl has diabetes. Have been very nervous giving her any treats. Made these today and she loves them. So does her brother, who is a fussy eater. Thank you so much for this recipe. While she has always been good with getting her shots, I feel better now that I can give her something she enjoys so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States