Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe about six times now and my puppy LOVES them, and he does not have diabetes. Like other reviewers suggested, I used two jars of baby food. Since my dog is small, I can freeze half the treats for later.They freeze pretty well. Cut into very small pieces, these treats are great for training.If you do not have parchment paper on hand, I just used wax paper and sprayed it with nonstick cooking spray. Because the cooking time is not long, the wax paper isn't harmful. The treats keep about a week to a week and a half in the refrigerator. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen's Friend

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was very easy to make, and all my dogs loved them, even my picky eater. It is nice to finally find a treat that is good for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Me? I hate liver, and these treats come out a weird, spongy texture. But I can't argue with the results. Diabetic or not, I haven't met a dog that didn't love these. (Note: so many dog treats have such an abundance of flour in them, thank you for one that does not.) Oh, and use the parchment paper. I didn't have it once and it was a nightmare trying to get these out of the pan. I even run the parchment paper up the sides of the jelly roll pan now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
My dog was just diagnosed with diabetes last week and is now on insulin we looked over all over for treats and couldn't find any so I made these today and she loves them. My other two dogs that are not diabetic loves them too. It was very simple and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aaatrouble
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Recipe was extremely easy and came out well. I didn't even cut up the liver, just slid it from the pkg into the food processor. We did add the eggs whole so the dogs could benefit from the added calcium and also added a little garlic powder. Spread out thick and baked for 20 min. Dogs LOVE them. Put a piece in front of one of our foster puppies who was sleeping and it was amazing; he started biting before he even woke up. Smell was not nearly as bad as I had expected after reading some of the other reviews, and cleanup was a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Love it! I use baby food instead of the liver and my dog loves it. Also works perfectly to hide his pills for cushings because I can put the pills into the treat because of the spongy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was a great recipe to go off of. I didn't do it quiet like this. I used less ingredients. I used beef baby food two 2.5oz jars, 7oz of pure pumpkin, and i used 4oz of water to make up for the eggs. I would love to have used them but dogs prone to pankcretitis i've read its not good for their sensitive tummies, and 1/4 whole wheat flower for my 1st go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
And I got cut off.... I just made them this morning and Misty has had a beef and turkey so far and loved them both! Thanks so much for this recipe! I already know I'll be using it ALOT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This recipe is such an awesome one. I did go with Gluten Free Whole Wheat Flour because it has no sugar period in it at all. There is not a dog I have given this to, that will not eat it. I have 6 dogs and they all stand around me in the kitchen when I am baking them, and trust me I am on my 15th batch already. Even my friends have me make them for their dogs, because their dogs will not eat store bought treats. Even the pickiest of doggies will eat these...but watch out for your hand...My vet has even approved them for my dog that is a diabetic...she was totally impressed! So just to let you know these have been "BUDDY" aprroved(that is my doggie's name) Healthy for them to all eat and everyone is happy! Tys so much for an awesome recipe. I have not tried it with other meats, but am thinking of using Chicken next...Again LOVE IT! and so do my Doggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I have made these now for my diabetic chihuahua and my Lab. They love them.I use the rye flour and the baby food. (watch the sugar and sodium content in baby food) So easy and quick. also have made extra for neighbors and friends, family dogs. THEY all love them. Thanks so much for this to be able to give my little guy treats that won't harm him and can still have with his diabetes, in moderation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States