Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
WOW!!!! I was just recentlly diagnosed with a severe case of diabeties. The next day my dad found this recipe. He did use the whole grain brown rice flour in the recipe because of the gluten in wheat flour. These things are grrreat. I even let him take my blood now and give me insulin shots because I know some of these yummy treats are comming. I'm feeling better now thanks to him and the best vet in the world(Dr. Hedges @ Brighten Vet in New Brighten, MN). Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe. WALKER P.S. How can I keep him from eating them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
OMG! I made these treats a few days ago for my toy poodle who was diagnosed with diabetes in June. RC is a very, very picky eater and he is now scratching on the fridge because he knows that is where I put the bag of these treats. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Kinman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
So easy to make and all twelve of my dogs love it. Made from the original recipe. Used a mini muffin non stick pan and they are the perfect size for each treat and just fall out of the pan. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Remember people,SORGHUM is not good for your dogs. It's worse than corn and has caused death in dogs who have never eaten it before so please be careful with your substitutes. Having a diabetic dog, we give her a weiner with each shot now, am going to make these instead for her. Thanks for thinking of our sugar deprived dogs, they are just as sweet as the regular dogs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
My picky eater loves these. I've purchased different treats on line...she won't eat a one. She loves these at about 1/10th of the cost of online purchased treats. I also break them up in her dull meals...Allows her to enjoy blah diabetic food... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Our miniature poodle was just diagnosed with diabetes. His glucose was up to 400 and he is now on insulin shots twice a day. I found these wonderful and easy to make treats while looking for diabetic dog treats. I'm on the second batch already. Our dog loves them. I saw in one review that the wheat flour is high in gluten and gluten turns to sugar. This person recommended brown rice flour. I had to go to three stores in my smallish town, but found it in health food store. So far I've used only the jarred baby beef - (2) 2.5 oz. jars, but I'm going to try some jarred baby vegetables (with no sugar) along with the beef when I make the next batch. I used a small size cookie sheet, lined with parchment and the treats come out very flat and I cut them in strips and these crosswise - like a flat Scrabble piece. I keep them refrigerated. So easy to make and they have solved the problem of trying to find Diabetic dog treats! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi Gawor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe about six times now and my puppy LOVES them, and he does not have diabetes. Like other reviewers suggested, I used two jars of baby food. Since my dog is small, I can freeze half the treats for later.They freeze pretty well. Cut into very small pieces, these treats are great for training.If you do not have parchment paper on hand, I just used wax paper and sprayed it with nonstick cooking spray. Because the cooking time is not long, the wax paper isn't harmful. The treats keep about a week to a week and a half in the refrigerator. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen's Friend

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was very easy to make, and all my dogs loved them, even my picky eater. It is nice to finally find a treat that is good for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Me? I hate liver, and these treats come out a weird, spongy texture. But I can't argue with the results. Diabetic or not, I haven't met a dog that didn't love these. (Note: so many dog treats have such an abundance of flour in them, thank you for one that does not.) Oh, and use the parchment paper. I didn't have it once and it was a nightmare trying to get these out of the pan. I even run the parchment paper up the sides of the jelly roll pan now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
My dog was just diagnosed with diabetes last week and is now on insulin we looked over all over for treats and couldn't find any so I made these today and she loves them. My other two dogs that are not diabetic loves them too. It was very simple and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States