Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I used ground turkey instead of liver and rice flour instead of wheat flour. They turned out great, and my dog really likes them. I've been making Dog Treats I for several months, but my dog seemed to be getting tired of them. This is a great alternative and so quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Our black lab BEAR is a diabetic. (just diagnosed....and we're working on figuring out his diet and insulin amounts) No more store bought treats for him and as soon as we get his glucose regulated, I'm going to be making all of his food. Right now he's on diet WD from the VET. Made these treats this morning. Making another batch at this very moment. I used beef baby food, eggs, brown rice flour. He loved them. (but I've never found anything he hasn't liked :)) We have 3 labs and they think ice cubes are amazing. The batch I have in right now, I used chicken baby food, eggs, brown rice flour (a little less than the 1/2cp),approx. 3 tablespoons of old fashioned oats, 1tb. of flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I made this with wheat flour but our vet was concerned about the gluten. So I read some reviews and settled on using brown rice flour. All my dogs love them! No more store bought treats for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
The smell was not all that bad to us. Just smelled like cooked liver...but instead of the whole wheat flour which was terribly expensive, our vet said we could use oatmeal and flax seed, which was cheaper, so perhaps this is why the small wasn't as bad (I don't think it would matter, but who knows). The bottom line is our dog, the one with diabetes and the other one both loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Made these Last night for my dog, and for Xmas pressies for my dogs friends. These were really easy to make. I couldn't source Whole wheat flour so i used plain flour instead. This worked just as well. Only thing is they do smell horrible! But gave my dog the bowl to clean which she loved then gave her a small bit this morning and she couldn't get enough of it! Would make these again, as very cheap and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
The recipe was so easy to do and my finicky Lhasa loves it. We have just found out she is diabetic and I am in the learning stage of taking care of her. Treats have always been a special part of her day, and now I can give her something that is so healthy and (and according to her) delicious. The only change I made was use the chicken breast instead of liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Griffin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
There is misinformation in some of the reviews that I'd like to clear up: gluten is not what raises blood sugar, starch is. Brown rice and the other flours you named are all starches, and all will affect blood sugar. Starch and sugar (naturally occurring or otherwise) both raise blood sugar; fiber, the third type of carbohydrate, does not. Just as for diabetic people, the whole-grain flour in this recipe is beneficial because the fiber in it helps keep blood sugar stable. // Made 9/9 for neighborhood event, using "manager's special" (i.e., on sale before it expired) ground lamb. My dogs gladly helped with "quality assurance testing," and they LOVE these. It's amazing that such a simple and easy recipe yields something dogs like so much. Cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
My bichon was recently diagnosed with diabetes, and he loves his treats, so I was delighted to find this recipe. I initially tried it substituting baby food for the liver. To my horror, I discovered baby food has sugar in it, so no more baby food. I have made it with lean ground beef and with chicken livers. I almost gagged with the liver thing, but the dogs like it. Think I will try chicken or turkey next. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I use chicken liver and chicken hearts. My dog goes crazy for these and I love that they are healthy for him. I have made these now for over 2 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I read through all the reviews, incorporated some of the suggestions and added my own. Here's what I used: • 1/2 cup of dessicated liver to one 15 ounce can of pumpkin (obviously, not pumpkin pie mix!) • 1 cup of brown rice flour • 1/2 cup of flax seeds • 4 eggs. I cooked it using the directions above and they came out perfectly. My dog knows now that the treats accompany the shots - he doesn't really like the shot but he REALLY likes the treats so makes giving the insulin very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States