Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Dogs love these! I substitute the liver for 2 jars of baby food; any meat flavor. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Our diabetic dog is enthusiastic about getting his insulin shots because he knows he gets one of these treats immediately after! He loves them! We had never seen him act this way over a treat. Great recipe! We used a large raw chicken breast in the recipe, instead of the liver. We also added a heaping helping of 'Missing Link' (a fiber supplement) and the treats lasted for 2 weeks sealed in a zip-loc bag in the fidge (actually ran out of the treats before they spoiled). We're making another batch right now! P.S. the pizza cutter idea for cutting them worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I tried three different animal treat recipes today and this one was the best. I made them for my cat and these are the only ones he'll eat. I used two jars of beef baby food insead of the liver and it turned out fine. Next time, I'm going to experiment with different amounts of flour, baby food and other additives (catnip, parsley, etc). These only cost me $1.52 in ingredients, too! Thanks a lot Barb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great Recipe! However; whole wheat flour has gluten. Gluten can raise blood sugar. I used whole grain brown rice wheat flour. It's gluten free. My dog loves them just the same. Other gluten free flours: * Brown rice flour: whole grain, very nutritional, has more oil * Buckwheat flour: not wheat, whole grain, strong taste, has more oil * Sorghum flour: whole grain, very nutritional, good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
BLANCH -Blanch the Liver!! Much easier on the eyes and nose when preparing. I used beef liver and chicken liver. I blanched both in hot water for a minute prior to food processor. Much nicer, MUCH!! The beef liver recipe was a bit thicker as the beef cooked more in the blanching process. The Chicken liver batch was more similar to the original both in texture and finished product. I have three Jack Russels and the diabetic one actually takes her shot without shaking when I put these in front of her. All three dogs prefered the beef liver but the chicken liver was a close second. Also made with ground turkey and that is a secondary treat. Just wanted everyone to know BLANCH yukky blood GONE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Well, I can't believe that I finally found a treat that all 3 of my dogs love! (2 Chihuahua's & 1 rat terrier) I just know this has to be good for them too, because it is loaded with liver. No sweetener of any kind! I have made 2 other recipes from this site and they can take or leave them. They nearly eat my hand off to get at these. So easy, so good, should be a 10 star to give you. Thanks Barb Maxwell, I know you have made a lot of our furry friends very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Made these today for my mom's dog who is very particular about what she eats and she loved them. I added the eggs (shell included)and the flour to the food processor and it blended well. Thanks for the great no sweets dog treats!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was so easy to make. Any meat will work and so does the baby food. Pup loves these. I used the scraps to hide her pills in and now have no trouble giving them to her. This was very plyable, so easy to mold around the pill. Of course she gets plain ones to trick her. These were all cut small. For her regular treat, they are cut a little larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
All 4 of my girls LOVE these treats. They set in the kitchen while I make them waiting for them to be done. Absolutely wonderful recipe! Healthy for any dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Thank you so much for a treat that is enjoyable and good for your furry family members with or without diabetes. Always good to go healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States