Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Had I not found this recipe my wee Westie pip might not have made it through the beginning of Diabetes Treatment. Hated jabs and fought and struggled and got very stressed. Made the cookies and because he knows he's going to get one I can give his jab without restraint ... well just before he climbs up my leg to try and get the cookie. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made these for my dachshund to celebrate his acceptance into a therapy dog group and he LOVES them. The only thing I did differently was sprinkle some parsley on top before baking and then added an egg wash to shine them up and make them look like the super expensive ones we seen in the doggy boutique bakery. I have to say, I really love my dog or else I would NEVER make something that smells so bad otherwise! I think I might try the chicken baby food next time- and there is definitely going to be a next time- these rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
"Buster-the-Beagle" LOVES these! Like others, I substituted 2 small jars of chicken baby food for the liver. I spread the mixture into a smaller-sized cookie sheet, and when they were baked, I used the pizza cutter to cut them into 1/2" wide strips. Then I cut them crosswise to make 1/2" squares. They make great training treats or "anytime- treats". I store them in a zip-lock bag in the freezer. He seems to really like them frozen. Thanks for a tasty and easy recipe. Buster agrees!**Woof**!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
My diabetic Bichon absolutely loves these treats. I make a double batch and freeze them, so I always have them on hand. They are his "boo-boo treat" after his shot.My healthy dog loves them, too. I don't even gag anymore when I spread the liver mixture on the baking sheet. Sometimes I add a touch of garlic powder or cinnamon for variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Made this for my neighbors diabetic dog. Replaced the meat with 2 small jars of chicken baby food. My cat even liked these treats after I broken it up in small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
These are terrific treats! I have made them as gifts for friends' "children" and "granddogs" and have made them as a means to bribe the guard dog at work into taking his medicine. Huge hit all around! Five "woofs"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was so easy to make. Any meat will work and so does the baby food. Pup loves these. I used the scraps to hide her pills in and now have no trouble giving them to her. This was very plyable, so easy to mold around the pill. Of course she gets plain ones to trick her. These were all cut small. For her regular treat, they are cut a little larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Our diabetic dog is enthusiastic about getting his insulin shots because he knows he gets one of these treats immediately after! He loves them! We had never seen him act this way over a treat. Great recipe! We used a large raw chicken breast in the recipe, instead of the liver. We also added a heaping helping of 'Missing Link' (a fiber supplement) and the treats lasted for 2 weeks sealed in a zip-loc bag in the fidge (actually ran out of the treats before they spoiled). We're making another batch right now! P.S. the pizza cutter idea for cutting them worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Well, I can't believe that I finally found a treat that all 3 of my dogs love! (2 Chihuahua's & 1 rat terrier) I just know this has to be good for them too, because it is loaded with liver. No sweetener of any kind! I have made 2 other recipes from this site and they can take or leave them. They nearly eat my hand off to get at these. So easy, so good, should be a 10 star to give you. Thanks Barb Maxwell, I know you have made a lot of our furry friends very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Dogs love these! I substitute the liver for 2 jars of baby food; any meat flavor. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States