Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I was expecting something crunchy and instead they were very soft and spongy. They may be good for older dogs or young puppies but my Dobie is almost two and he likes crunchy treats. I ended up throwing my batch away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
My diabetic dog loved these treats! I used the babyfood instead of liver (processed the liver once and that was enough for me!). I also used muffin tins instead and made pupcakes. We are having a hard time getting her to eat her diabetic food, but with a pupcake added, she does much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
All dogs love this treat. I make it about every other month. Dealing with the liver is a little icky but a nice food processor helps. I've made these for my dogs and for friend's and family's dogs. Cats would probably love this too. I know my cat (RIP) would have went bonkers for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
WOW, my dogs went crazy over these! My dogs do not have a diabetes, but I thought this sounded like a tasty and healthy treat. I used one LARGE container of baby food--one batch with chicken noodle and one with turkey vegetable--1/ cup flour, and 2 eggs. I spread it onto a baking sheet and baked for 12 minutes at 350 degrees. After cooling a few minutes, I used a heart cookie cutter to punch out shapes, then cut the scraps up. I stored everything in a few ziplock baggies in the fridge. The dogs went wild for these treats, they really loved them. I served them to my two dogs and also have them at a doggie DNA party for my dogs and their doggie guests. Six different dogs all tried these, ranging from Chihuahua, Collie, mixed breeds, Lab, and Akita and they ALL loved them. Not one dog turned them down, even the picky Chihuahua. They were VERY popular and I had a few requests for the recipe. I am positive I will be making these again and I highly recommend them. My dogs and I thank you for sharing the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
i made these for our choc. lab who is diabetic and has pancretious(sp?) (he can't have fat either or he gets sick). he really missed his treats, HE LOVES THESE! as well as our golden-doodle puppy! i have asked the vet about buying store made diabetic treats, which are hard to find anyway but he said that there are no laws that regulate what actually goes in them ;despite what they say on the package; they often are not what they say!?anyway i made these just as recipe states except sprinkling some fresh chopped parsley on top of alittle eggwhite wash. WARNING- DO NOT MAKE THESE RIGHT BEFORE COMPANY IS COMING OVER! IT STINKS BAD!! but the look on your dogs face is worth it!thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
BLANCH -Blanch the Liver!! Much easier on the eyes and nose when preparing. I used beef liver and chicken liver. I blanched both in hot water for a minute prior to food processor. Much nicer, MUCH!! The beef liver recipe was a bit thicker as the beef cooked more in the blanching process. The Chicken liver batch was more similar to the original both in texture and finished product. I have three Jack Russels and the diabetic one actually takes her shot without shaking when I put these in front of her. All three dogs prefered the beef liver but the chicken liver was a close second. Also made with ground turkey and that is a secondary treat. Just wanted everyone to know BLANCH yukky blood GONE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Mine did not turn out at all - I never said I was a bkaer, but was surprised at the outcome. I did use beef baby food - used 4 - 2.5 oz. jars, maybe that was too much? I had a hard time figuring that just 2 would possibly equate to 1.5 pounds of liver. I used wax paper and they were totally stuck and doughy on the bottom side. I ended up putting them under the broiler (doughy side up) for a few minutes and they seemed to be cooked enough, although very thin. My dog ate them right up anyway! I will try again with less baby food and will use a smaller pan (maybe a square pan with a little cooking spray?) so they are a bit thicker and I will bake longer. Just glad to have something to give my newly diagnosed diabetic dog becasue she was missin gher usual biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
LIVER?? good?? you betcha! my dogs have never had liver before because "I" don't like liver ~ Imagine my surprise to see my two pups go crazy for this treat! Honestly, my picky eater will do roll-overs for this stuff lol. I added just about a 1/4 cup of shredded mild cheddar cheese and a 1/4 cup of rolled oats. This is not a cookie-crisp like treat...Mine came out soft and pliable....kind of like a firm pancake texture. My older pup has had dental issues and this works Wonderful for him. It's a quick and easy recipe that you'll find you will make again and again for your babies. Thank you SO much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I take care of a lady who has alzhimers and she over fed her dog and he became diabetic.The vet said NO TREATS until we told her about these and now he is able to have a treat twice a day, and well, he LOVES them. I go by the recipe and it couldn't be easier.Thank You so much.If it wasn't for this recipe that poor little dog would still go without a treat. My little friend thanks you too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I used canned sausages that looked like little hot dogs(who eats these? yuck!)instead of liver. I didn't have wax paper so I used alum and sprayed a little pam on it. Smelled gross.. like cooked hot dogs..lol.. but my dog loves them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States