Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Rochelle
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Great Maxx and Emma loved them. I did not have any chicken hearts on hand so I used a packeage of chicken hot dogs. These were quick and easy to make. I used a bottle top as my cookie cutter and my picky eater started to break dance all over the floor after one taste. Can't wait to try other meats and see what they prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I gave 5 stars ting but I was on the website dogtreatkitchen.com and they said liver gives anemia and is toxic. I have a diabetic dog and am looking for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJ Pickles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Once you try this recipe you won't ever make another. It's easy and no rolling out dough. I used turkey and chicken baby food instead of liver and then once baked I used a shot glass to do cut outs. Ended up with circles and stars and the dogs LOVE them!!! Whoever came up with this one...Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Dogs loved them! Used beef baby food and a little smaller pan so they were a little thicker. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
thanks, yes 1 of my 2 Chihuahuas have diabetes, and I appreciate you sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Gold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Easy & gobbled down with great enthusiasm, thank you! The wheat flour would be a bad idea for dogs prone to allergies, but it's easy enough to substitute. A note to those using baby food: it may contain onion powder, a no-no for dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I was blessed about 3 months ago with a oocker spaniel (who had been dumped, and overweight)... She woke up not walking one morning, off to the vet we went. She has pretty bad back problems!!! They had to put her o steroids, and said she needed to lose weight also!!! I found this recipe and decided it couldnt do her any harm!!! *Miley* loved them!!! I used a 6oz jar of chicken w/vegetables!! I just put some parchment paper on a cookie sheet and spread out the mix!!! Will make them a little thicker next time!!! Thank You for a *HEALTHY* recipe I can give my little blessing!!!! Miley thanks you too!!! Off to make another batch for my moms dog!!!! Revised... my moms dog that has no teeth and a very picky eater absolutly loves these treats... My dog and my mothers go absolutly nuts when they hear the bag coming from the fridge!!!! I reccomend this for any dog!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Athens, Illinois, USA
Living In: West Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I boiled chicken necks,deboned and ground the meat in processor (2 cups ground chicken) then followed the recipe using the chicken instead of liver. Worked great! my DD loved them! I saved the broth and made homemade milkbone treats too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Deslauriers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I love baking!
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I didn't use the liver, I used my roast drippings from the crock pot (about 1/2 Cup - 1Cup) . I choose this recipe because of the minimal ingredients. I just added corn flour (Maseca mix), until the dough came together. Rolled it out and used a melon baller to cut out little rounds that would fit into the dog treat jar. I baked them till they dried out and turned off the oven and let them sit in it. My dogs love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
If you'd leave out the flour, then you'd have a much better treat that's fit for diabetic dogs. Crunchy Liver-Hides are really raw and certified organic (and human-grade). These treats would be a much better choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States