Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I was blessed about 3 months ago with a oocker spaniel (who had been dumped, and overweight)... She woke up not walking one morning, off to the vet we went. She has pretty bad back problems!!! They had to put her o steroids, and said she needed to lose weight also!!! I found this recipe and decided it couldnt do her any harm!!! *Miley* loved them!!! I used a 6oz jar of chicken w/vegetables!! I just put some parchment paper on a cookie sheet and spread out the mix!!! Will make them a little thicker next time!!! Thank You for a *HEALTHY* recipe I can give my little blessing!!!! Miley thanks you too!!! Off to make another batch for my moms dog!!!! Revised... my moms dog that has no teeth and a very picky eater absolutly loves these treats... My dog and my mothers go absolutly nuts when they hear the bag coming from the fridge!!!! I reccomend this for any dog!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Athens, Illinois, USA
Living In: West Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I boiled chicken necks,deboned and ground the meat in processor (2 cups ground chicken) then followed the recipe using the chicken instead of liver. Worked great! my DD loved them! I saved the broth and made homemade milkbone treats too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Deslauriers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I love baking!
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I didn't use the liver, I used my roast drippings from the crock pot (about 1/2 Cup - 1Cup) . I choose this recipe because of the minimal ingredients. I just added corn flour (Maseca mix), until the dough came together. Rolled it out and used a melon baller to cut out little rounds that would fit into the dog treat jar. I baked them till they dried out and turned off the oven and let them sit in it. My dogs love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
If you'd leave out the flour, then you'd have a much better treat that's fit for diabetic dogs. Crunchy Liver-Hides are really raw and certified organic (and human-grade). These treats would be a much better choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
These treats are a LIFE SAVER!!! Our dog, Chancey, is VERY sensitive to most foods and we haven't had the extra money to spend on the treats she can have. BUT she doesn't get sick from these treats at all!! I used gluten free baking mix instead of flour and used three small jars of baby food. The baby food was different meat flavors. I prepared them separtly and put food coloring in them so we could tell them aprat. Chaney likes beef the best! She now follows me around when I'm in the kitchen, waiting for a treat! ^_^ Thanks SOOO much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Easy to make and my dog loves them! I used chicken livers instead of beef liver and also threw the eggshells into the food processor (I was told they are safe and add calcium). I was a little worried because I didn't have parchment paper, but I just sprayed a little cooking spray on my pan and they didn't stick at all! Fantastic recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Buddy, our 14 year old, diabetic, Dachshund loves them. I used chicken livers instead of beef liver. He's gone blind now, but his nose still works, he was waiting for an earthquake to knock the pan off the the counter while they were cooling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I just made this for my Diabetic pooch, and she LOVED It! I did substitute the liver with 2 jars of chicken baby food, and I increased the amount of wheat flour to 1 cup. and added 2 tablespoons of chicken broth to help moisten. THANK YOU BARB for GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginaiboo
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Our diabetic labrador absolutely loved these treats! I'm so glad that I was able to spoil him with a healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This recipe is GREAT. One of our dogs was just diagnosed with diabeties. We took her home for the weekend after the vet had her for a week and her blood sugar was about 230. We tend to give our dogs a LOT of treats and I was worried that giving her so many of these that her sugar would be sky high. We took her in Monday and her blood sugar was 113 so these truely caused no hard. Also, all three of our dogs LOVE them. I substitue the 2 2.5 oz jars of baby food for the liver also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States